BGSBU faculty bags INSA young scientist award

SRINAGAR: Dr. Mohammad Asgher, an Assistant Professor at Department of Botany, School of Biosciences and Biotechnology, Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University, Rajouri (JK) has been awarded Young Scientist Medal for 2021 by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) New Delhi.
Dr. Asgher belongs to a far-flung area of district Rajouri. He comes from a modest background and has been a hard-working researcher to achieve this feat.
Dr. Mohd Asgher has been awarded for his outstanding work on the role of heavy metals and signaling molecules in plant physiology using cultivated and medicinal species. In particular, his research on ethylene optimization using sulphur supplementation for augmenting photosynthesis and growth under cadmium stress can be used for developing heavy metal tolerant crop plants. Dr. Asgher will receive a citation, medal along with a Cash prize of Rs one Lakh by the Academy.
Prof. Akbar Masood Vice Chancellor Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University congratulated Dr. Asghar for the prestigious award. Prof. Akbar said,” BGSBU takes pride in congratulating Dr. Asghar , Assistant Professor, Department of Botany for prestigious INSA Young scientist award 2021. we are delighted that Dr. Asghar has made a mark in plant physiology and has brought pride to BGSBU. His work will bring international recognition to Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University”.Vice Chancellor said that the exemplary success of Dr. Asghar will motivate many budding scientists.
Prof. Iqbal Parwez, Dean Academic Affairs and Dr. Susheel Verma, Head and Associate Dean, School of Biosciences and Biotechnology also congratulated Dr. Asgher for his brilliant achievement.
Since 1974, INSA annually presents the Young Scientist Award to distinguish young scientists who have made notable research contributions in science and technology.
The INSA Young Scientists Award, is considered to be thehighest recognition of promise, creativity and excellence in a young scientist.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.