India tour of South Africa on as of now, says BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal

New delhi: BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal on Tuesday said India’s tour of South Africa remains on schedule provided the situation doesn’t aggravate in the rainbow nation after a new COVID-19 variant was detected there. India play the final Test against New Zealand in Mumbai and are scheduled to depart to Johannesburg from there on December […]

South Africa promises secure bio-bubble for Team India; appreciates BCCI for continuing ‘A’ tour

Johannesburg: South Africa’s foreign ministry has said that a “full bio-secure environment” will be created for the Indian cricket team when it lands here for a highly-anticipated series next month and lauded the BCCI for not pulling out its ‘A’ team despite the panic caused by the discovery of a new COVID-19 variant. India A […]

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana remain 3rd and 6th in ICC women’s ODI rankings

DUBAI: India batters Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana held on to their third and sixth spots respectively while allrounder Deepti Sharma was also steady at the fifth position in the latest ICC women’s ODI rankings released on Tuesday. While Mithali had 738 points, Smriti had 710 points in her kitty in the batting ranking, which […]

NIFF Youth Football League: SCFA Bandipora beat Kashmir Avengers by 3-1

SRINAGAR: SCFA Bandipora in a lopsided affair beat Kashmir Avengers by 3-1 goals in their league match of NIFF Youth Football League 2021 played at TRC Synthetic Turf ground here on Tuesday. SCFA Bandipora dominated the proceeding from the beginning of the match and has maximum ball possession. Aqib Ayaz of SCFA ,Bandipora was declared […]

India vs New Zealand, 1st Test: Indians defy India: Ravindra-Patel combo fashions memorable draw for NZ

KANPUR: Two Indian-born cricketers, Ajaz Patel and Rachin Ravindra, showed remarkable resilience under fading light and on a deteriorating track to defy India’s famous spinners, eking out a thrilling draw for New Zealand in the opening Test on Monday. Indian spinners, led by Ravindra Jadeja, put up one of their most persevering performances in recent […]

Ashwin goes past Harbhajan, becomes India’s third highest wicket-taker in Tests

KANPUR: Seasoned off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin on Monday went past Harbhajan Singh to become the third highest wicket-taker for India in Test cricket, reaching the mark in his 80th match. The legendary Anil Kumble tops the chart with 619 scalps and is followed by India’s first World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev, who has a total of […]

Kyle Kumaran wins Sr National Rotax Karting title, Peregrine Racing claim overall honours

BENGALURU: Young racer Kyle Kumaran turned in yet another sterling performance to clinch the Senior Max title in the Meco FMSCI National Karting Championship Rotax Max class 2021 at the Meco Kartopia Track. The 18-year-old racer looked to be in supreme form and won all but one race to not only pocket his maiden national […]

NIFF Youth Football League: JK Bank FA beat Ganderbal FC by 2-0 goals

SRINAGAR: J&K Bank FA beat FC Ganderbal by 2-0 goals in their league match of NIFF Youth Football League played here at Synthetic Turf Football Stadium on Monday. For the wining team Huzaifah scored both the goals and was declared man of the match for his excellent performance. The Youth Football League is being organised […]

There wasn’t much happening on the wicket, Iyer on late declaration

Kanpur: The declaration may have come a tad too late owing to the team management’s assessment of the Green Park pitch as unresponsive but debutant Shreyas Iyer backed his spinners to secure an Indian victory on the final day of the opening Test. India declared their second innings at 234 for seven, having extended their […]

Saurav Ghosal wins Malaysian Open squash tournament

Kuala Lumpur: Indian squash player Saurav Ghosal won his first PSA title in three years when he triumphed at the Malaysian Open with a straight set win over top seed Miguel Rodriguez, here. Second seed and ranked 15th in the world, Ghosal defeated Rodriguez 11-7 11-8 13-11 in 55 minutes to win his 10th PSA […]