Jammu drubs Anantnag to lift LG’s Rolling Cricket Trophy title

Jammu: Getting the better of District Anantnag by a margin of 26 runs in the summit clash, District Jammu lifted the title of the LG’s Rolling Cricket Trophy, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports at MAM Stadium, here.

Lieutenant Governor, Manoj Sinha was the chief guest on the closing ceremony, while ADGP Mukesh Singh, Secretary to Government Youth Services and Sports Department Sarmad Hafeez, Divisional Commissioner Jammu Ramesh Kumar, Deputy Commissioner Jammu Avny Lavasa, Director Youth Services and Sports J&K Subash C Chibber and Secretary J&K Sports Council Nuzhat Gul were present on the occasion.

Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Jammu scored a good total of 143 runs in the stipulated 20 overs, losing 7 wickets in the process. Rishav and Ankush scored 40 runs each, while Rohit Singh contributed 24 runs to the total.

For Anantnag, Omis Mohi ud din bagged 3 wickets, while Owais Rashid claimed 2.

In reply, Anantnag managed to score 117 runs in 20 overs, losing 7 wickets in the process, thus lost the match by 26 runs. Wahid Teli top scored with 35 runs, while Bilal Ahmed contributed 29 runs.

For Jammu, Abhay Sharma and Abhishek took 2 wickets each, while Shanker claimed one wicket.

For his superb bowling display, Ankush was adjudged as the man of the tournament for his superb batting display who was presented trophy by Lieutenant Governor.

LG also honoured the winners with a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 and a glittering Rolling Trophy, while the runners- up team was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 75,000 and a trophy.

The winner of third place District Ganderbal was presented with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and the winner of 4th place District Doda was also given a consolation award.

Prominent among others who were present on this occasion include Deputy Director Central Jatinder Mishra, JD YSS Jammu Suram Chand Sharma, JD YSS Kashmir Bashir Ahmed, Deputy Director Plan Ravi Kumar, Accounts Office Sunil Kumar Sharma, employees of Youth Services and Sports Department/ Sports Council, sports lovers, school children and people from different walks of life.

The match was officiated by former Ranji Trophy Player Arshid Ahmed Bhat and Avinash Kumar as Umpires, while BCCI Level-1 Coach and Level-1 Umpire Rajesh Dhar was the Match Referee. Secretary of the Department presented welcome address and threw light on different phases of the tournament. Director YSS thanked all the ranks of the Department for making the sports extravaganza a great success.

The proceedings of the impressive closing ceremony were conducted by I/c Media and Publicity Wing of the Department Azhar Hajini.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.