Rohit, Pant, Ashwin feature in ICC’s ‘Test Team of Year’

DUBAI: The flamboyant Rohit Sharma featured as opener, Rishabh Pant as wicketkeeper and R Ashwin as the lone specialist spinner in the ICC men’s ‘Test Team of the Year’ but no Indian player was included in the global body’s ODI XI for 2021.
After going unrepresented in the ICC men’s ‘T20 Team of the Year’ due to a disastrous World Cup campaign in the UAE, it was no surprise to see the Indians miss out in the apex body’s ODI side as well after playing just six matches, even as the list featured two players from minnows Ireland.
India, the world number one in Tests, however have three representatives in the year’s best team for the game’s longest format, with New Zealand talisman Kane Williamson as its skipper.
Overall, India played 14 Tests in 2021 and managed to win eight out of them. They lost three Tests last year, including the heart-breaking defeat in the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand. —PTI



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.