168 curfews imposed in 9 districts of Kashmir in 2016, 2017: Govt

Jammu: The government said that curfew and restrictions were imposed for 168 times in nine districts of the valley during the last two years.

Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti informed this in the state Assembly in a written reply to a question by National Conference MLA Ali Mohammad Sagar on Tuesday.

She said that in Anantnag district, curfew and restrictions were imposed for 51 times, followed by 37 times in Baramulla district, 25 times each in Srinagar and Budgam districts, 17 times in Pulwama district, 14 times in Shopian district, nine times in Bandipora district, seven times in Kulgam district and three times in Ganderbal district.

Besides, five times in Kishtwar district of the Jammu region.

Mufti said that the restrictions were imposed as necessities by the situation and cordon and search operations were carried out on specific information.

In another reply the CM said that 272 civilians were killed since last two years in the state.

 “85 civilians were killed in law and order incidents and 19 others killed during militancy related incidents in year 2016,” CM said in response to a question raised by a legislator.

 She also informed the house that 20 civilians were killed in ‘law and order’ problems and 48 others died in militancy relegated incidents in year 2017.

Mehbooba said that 13 and 11 civilians were killed during cross border shelling in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

 “An amount of Rs 23 lakh has been paid to the NoKs of 23 deceased, Rs 6.20 lac in favour of 110 injured persons and Rs 43.66 lac on account of 165 structures damaged due to the border shelling”, Mehbooba said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.