Cabinet gives nod to 2 Engineering Colleges under RUSA, creation of 136 posts

The Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti today accorded sanction to the establishment of two Government Colleges of Engineering and Technology under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) by the State Higher Education Department, one each at Safapora in Ganderbal district and Janglot in Kathua district.

The Cabinet also accorded sanction to the creation of 136 posts i.e 68 posts for each college.

The Union Ministry of HRD has approved two Government Colleges of Engineering and Technology under the centrally sponsored scheme RUSA for addressing critical gaps and spatial distribution higher educational institution across the state. The Union Ministry sanctioned Rs 52 Crore for establishment of infrastructure for both institutions, out of which 90 % will be central share and 10% state share.

The two institutions are expected to meet the growing demand of technical / skilled manpower in the key sectors in the state i.e. Industry and Power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.