LS Polls: 19 candidates in fray from Jammu constituency

Jammu: Returning Officer for Jammu Parliamentary Constituency, Ajeet Kumar Sahu on Monday rejected 5 nomination papers after scrutinizing 24 nomination forms filed by the candidates to contest from the constituency for upcoming parliamentary polls.
The rejection of five nomination forms has left a total of 19 candidates in fray for parliamentary elections for Jammu Parliamentary Constituency, an official spokesman said.
Those candidates who are in fray are Ashok Kumar from BSP, Jugal Kishore Sharma of Bharatiya Janta Party, Madan Lal Sharma from Indian National Congress, Hari Chand Jalmeria from Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Yashpal Sharma from Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, Bahadur Singh Chowdhary from Samajwadi Party, Subhash Chander from All J&K Kissan Majdoor Party, Gursagar Singh from Socialistic Democratic Party, Mehar Manav Bhagat representing Bharatiya Bahajun Party.
Besides these, Ashok Kumar, Perseen Singh, Raj Kumar, Satish Poonchi, Abdul Majid Chouhan, Laboo Ram, Mohammad Abbas Khan, Mohammad Imtiyaz, Nirmal Singh and Vijay Kumar will be contesting as independent candidates from the Jammu constituency, he said.
Meanwhile, five candidates filed nomination papers for Udhampur Parliamentary constituency on Monday
An official spokesman said that five nominations were received by the Returning Officer, Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency, Jitendra K Singh.
“Prof. Bhim Singh of J&K National Panthers Party (JKNPP) and Anil Kumar Gupta (Independent) filed their nomination papers,” he said, adding “Both the candidates also filed their nominations as substitute of themselves.”
Others who filed their nomination papers included Prem Nath as substitute candidate of Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), Shyam Lal (All J&K Kissan Mazdoor Party), Ranjit Singh (Independent).
Six nomination forms were issued among the applicants during the day, he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.