‘Voter registration camps held across Valley’

SRINAGAR: Special camps were  Sunday organised at all designated polling stations for addition of new voters in wake of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, officials said.
“ As many as 804 polling stations in Srinagar experienced huge rush of people  in connection with voter registration,” an official spokesman said.
Electoral Registration Officers (EROs) and Assistant Electoral Registration Officers (AEROs) personally monitored the campaign, the spokesman said.
District Election Officer Srinagar,  Farooq Ahmad Shah also visited various polling stations particularly Khanyar, Zadibal, Sonwar, Eidgah and Amira Kadal constituencies, the spokesman said.
“District Election Officer Srinagar expressed satisfaction over the arrangements made by the concerned officers for registration of voters,” the spokesman said.
However, nine Booth Level Officers (BLOs) were found absent from duty and orders for suspension of these officials were issued on the spot and immediate alternate arrangements were made to avoid any inconvenience in registration process of voters.
Pertinently as many as 8,000 voters filed Form-6 for incorporation of their names in electoral rolls.
Similar camps for voter registration were held at 540 Polling Booths in district Budgam. Additional District Development Commissioner, Budgam conducted a random inspection of various polling booths and fund that several voters were getting themselves registered through concerned BLOs.
Meanwhile, the District Election Officer Baramulla, while reviewing the election preparedness in District Baramulla, directed the officers to register all the left out voters so that they can cast their votes in forth coming elections. Several special camps were organized in the district for the purpose in which interested persons got themselves registered in presence of BLOs.
Voter registration campaigns were held in other districts of the Valley in which large number of new voters registered their names through Form-6 in presence of Booth Level Officers so that they can participate in forthcoming Lok Sabha Elections, the spokesman said.
Jammu and Udhampur constituencies will go to polls on Arpil 10 and April 17, respectively. Polling in Anantnag constituency will be held on April 24, Srinagar constituency on April 30 and Baramulla and Ladakh on May 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.