Sehwag, Raina, Gayle, Gibbs among veterans to feature in IVPL

NEW DELHI: Veteran cricketers Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Herchelle Gibbs, and Chris Gayle, among others, are set to return to the cricket field to entertain fans and create some iconic moments in the first edition of the much-awaited Indian Veteran Premier League (IVPL) slated to be played in Greater Noida from 23 February to 3 March.
From Sehwag’s explosive batting prowess to Raina’s agile fielding and Gayle’s formidable six-hitting prowess, each player brings a unique flair to the field.
Organized by the Board for Veteran Cricket in India (BVCI) and managed by 100 Sports,the IVPL will witness tough competition among six formidable teams, including VVIP Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan Legends, Red Carpet Delhi, Chhattisgarh Warriors, Telangana Tigers, and Mumbai Champions.
While Sehwag will captain Mumbai Champions, Chris Gayle will lead Telangana Tigers.
Raina will steer the command of VVIP Uttar Pradesh, as the southpaw gets ready to don the yellow colors again.
Former South African batter Herchelle Gibbs will captain the Red Carpet Delhi team.
Talking about the IVPL, Sehwag said, “I’m very excited to be part of the Indian Veteran Premier League (IVPL). I’ll be playing for Mumbai Champions. Let’s support Mumbai Champions.”
Raina said he was thrilled to be part of the Indian Veteran Premier League. I will be playing for Team VVIP Uttar Pradesh.”
Acting President of BVCI and Chairman of IVPL Praveen Tyagi said, “The tournament will infuse a new energy for Veteran Cricket in India. We welcome all the veterans to the IVPL family and everyone here is excited to witness the magic.”
The first match of IVPL will see a thrilling clash between Sehwag’s Mumbai Champions and Chris Gayle’s Telangana Tigers here at Shaheed Vijay Singh Pathik Sports Complex.
The IVPL Final will be played on March 3 and before the summit clash every day (except Day 1) there will be double headers.
Each team will engage in five matches during the league stage before progressing to the semifinals, slated for March 2, where the top four teams will compete for coveted spots in the final showdown.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.