Rohit leads ICC ODI Team of the Year; Ashwin, Jadeja in Test XI

Surya, Jaiswal, Bishnoi and Arshdeep make the cut in T20I XI

New Delhi: Although India lost the ODI World Cup final against Australia but they have dominated the ICC ODI Team of the Year, which is captained by Rohit Sharma. The team also featured five other Indians including Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill pace duo of Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj and chinaman Kuldeep Yadav.
Rohit Sharma has scored 1,255 runs at an average of 52 last year. Shubman Gill has struck a brilliant 208 against the Kiwis and also finished as the highest run-scorer (1,584) in the format. Kohli finished as the second-highest run-scorer of the year in ODIs (1,337) and slammed six centuries during the year. He surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most international tons, besides winning the Player of the Tournament award during the World Cup.
In the ICC Test team of the year, India only have two players. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin were the two Indians featuring in the playing XI,with Australia’s World Test Championship (WTC) and ODI World Cup-winning captain Pat Cummins as its captain.
Veteran off-spinner Ashwin was the leading wicket-taker for India in the Border-Gavaskar series, finishing with 25 wickets in four matches. Jadeja performed quite well in the WTC final against Australia, picking up four wickets and adding a valuable 48 with the bat, despite India ultimately facing defeat.
In the T02I team three Indians — Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh — figured in the ICC T20I Team of the Year.
Suryakumar, who was named captain of the T20I side, topped the runs chart with 733 runs in 18 matches at a strike rate of 155.95 to consolidate his position at the top of the rankings.
No Indian found a place in the ICC’s women’s ODI team of the year while the T20I Team of the Year included only one player form the country in all-rounder Deepti Sharma.
ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year
Usman Khawaja (Aus), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Travis Head (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Alex Carey (WK, Aus), Pat Cummins (Capt, Aus), R Ashwin (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng)
ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year
Phoebe Litchfield (Aus), Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Ash Gardner (Aus), Annabel Sutherland (Aus), Nadine de Klerk (SA), Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Nahida Akter (Ban)
Men’s ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma (Capt, Ind), Shubman Gill (Ind), Travis Head (Aus), Virat Kohli (Ind), Daryl Mitchell (NZ), Heinrich Klaasen (WK, SA), Marco Jansen (SA), Adam Zampa (Aus), Mohammed Siraj (Ind), Kuldeep Yadav (Ind), Mohammed Shami (Ind)
Women’s T20I Team of the Year
Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Hayley Matthews (WI), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Ash Gardner (Aus), Deepti Sharma (Ind), Sophie Ecclestone (Eng), Megan Schutt (Aus)
Men’s T20I Team of the Year:
Yashasvi Jaiswal (Ind), Phil Salt (Eng) Nicholas Pooran (WK, WI), Suryakumar Yadav (Capt, Ind), Mark Chapman (NZ), Sikandar Raza (Zim), Alpesh Ramjani (Uga), Mark Adair (Ire), Ravi Bishnoi (Ind), Richard Ngarava (Zim), Arshdeep Singh (Ind)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.