Mohammed Shami receives Arjuna Award from President Murmu

New Delhi: On Tuesday, India’s pace spearhead Mohammed Shami was amongst the group of athletes awarded with the Arjuna Award, conferred every year for outstanding achievement in sports and games.
Shami had been part of the Indian team that ended runner ups in the World Test Championship and the ODI World Cup. The 33-year-old was also the leading wicket taker in the World Cup that was hosted in India, finishing with 24 scalps off just seven matches.
Posting a video of the award ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, Shami wrote on his social media, “Today I am feeling very proud that I have been honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award by the President. I want to thank all those people who have helped me a lot to reach here and have always supported me in my ups and downs.
“Thanks to my coach, BCCI, teammates, my family, staff and big thanks to my fans. Thanks to recognise my hard work. I will always try to give my best to make my country proud,” he added.
Among other recipients of the award were were wrestler Antim Panghal, a former junior world champion and bronze-winner at the senior event last year, boxer Mohammad Hussamuddin (bronze-winner at last year’s world championship), and athlete Parul Chaudhary.
Shuttlers Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty were awarded with the coveted Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award for a breakout 2023 that saw them win their maiden Asian Games gold – a first ever for India in badminton – while also clinching the Asian Championships title and the Indonesia Open Super 1000 title.
Arjuna Awards for 2023: Ojas Pravin Deotale (archery), Aditi Gopichand Swami (archery), Murali Sreeshankar (athletics), Parul Chaudhary (athletics), Mohammad Hussamuddin (boxing), R Vaishali (chess), Mohammed Shami (cricket), Anush Agarwalla (equestrian), Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage), Diksha Dagar (golf), Krishan Bahadur Pathak (hockey), Sushila Chanu (hockey), Pawan Kumar (kabaddi), Ritu Negi (kabaddi), Nasreen (kho-kho), Pinki (lawn bowls), Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting), Esha Singh (shooting), Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (squash), Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis), Sunil Kumar (wrestling), Antim Panghal (wrestling), Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu), Sheetal Devi (para archery), Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket), Prachi Yadav (para canoeing).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.