CBDT gets independent investigation member after 3 years in latest portfolio reshuffle

New Delhi: The portfolios of CBDT members have been reshuffled again with 1986-batch IRS officer Nitin Gupta being entrusted with the independent charge of the sensitive investigation vertical of the Income Tax Department, according to a government order.
The charge of member (investigation) was being handled as an additional portfolio by the head of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) for over three years now.
Current CBDT Chairman J B Mohapatra had been handling the charge in an additional capacity like his predecessors P C Mody and Sushil Chandra.
According to the latest order issued on September 28, Gupta will hold the independent charge of member (investigation), while another member and 1985-batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer Anuja Sarangi will hold the charge of administration and faceless schemes.
The order accessed by PTI was issued by the department of revenue under the finance ministry.
The CBDT frames policy for the income tax department and the office of member (investigation) supervises the action of all its probe wings located across the country that undertake search and seizure operations as part of their mandate to check tax evasion.
The nationwide offices of the chief commissioner of income tax (central), where tax raid cases go for appraisal and finalisation, and the directorate of intelligence and criminal investigation of the department also report to the member (investigation).
The order added that CBDT member Pragya Sahay Saksena will hold the charge of legislation and systems, while member (audit and judicial) Sangeeta Singh will hold the additional charge of member (income tax and revenue) and member (taxpayer services).
The CBDT is headed by a Chairman and can have a maximum of six members. All of these officers are in the rank of special secretary.
There are currently two vacancies in the board. —PTI


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.