Gayoor Foundation holds election

Showkat Gayoor elected as President, Prof Shad Ramzan as Chief Patron

Srinagar: Gayoor foundation (GF), an organisation for promotion of Art, Culture, literature & civil society held elections for its office bearers at Srinagar.
The meeting was presided over by a renowned scholar, educationist, writer, poet, linguistic and critic Prof ( Dr ) Shad Ramzan.
Er Mir Syed S Gayoor Andrabi was unanimously & unopposed elected as president of the foundation.
Prof ( Dr) Shad Ramzan was elected as Chief Patron, Imdad Hussain Saqi as General Secretary, Kaleem Bashir as Sr Vice President, SGM Andrabi (Kreeri) as Convenor. vice presidents were elected which include advocate Khurshaid Iqbal Shah & Showkat Ahmad Farooqi, Syed Tajam-ul-Islam as Spokesperson , while as Mushtaq Ahmad Canny was elected as Jt Secretary , Ghulam Hassan Kuchay as
Treasurer, Shabir-uz-Zaman as secretary media , Javaid Ahmad Sofi as joint secretary & Mohsin Altaf as incharge media cell.
The elections were conducted under the supervision of SGM Andrabi, Kreeri, the election Commissioner of the foundation. Some of the members who could not attend in person, participated on- line.
The meeting was addressed by Bashir Ahmad Masoodi , Ghulam Hussain Hussaini, Syed Izhar Mubashir, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Yasar Muhammad Baba, Mir Mohammad Akram, Haji Abdul Ahad Thokar, Dr Pervaiz Ahmad Bhat , Sajad Yusuf Rather and Gulzar Ahmad Malik.
President showkat Gayoor congratulated newly elected office bearers and impressed upon them to work with dedication for promotion of our art, culture, literature & development throughout Jammu and Kashmir.
It was pointed out that Gayoor Foundation is a non-political society established in memory of Saut-i-Kashmir , Shaheed, Mir Syed Ghulam Rasool Andrabi @ Gayoor who was assassinated on 22nd of October 2005 at his village at Ratnipora by unknown gunmen.
The president nominated the first list of following eminent literally figures to the advisory board of the foundation:
Peerzada Abdal Ahmad Mehjoor, Dr Muhammad Shafi Ayaz, Rashid sarshar, Said-u-Din Saidi, Fayaz Tilgami, Shri M K Raina & Aseer Kashtwari.
The elections could not be held in time due to Covid 19 in 2020-21.
In his presidential address, Prof (Dr) Shad Ramzan congratulated the newly elected office bearers & recalled the dedication & hard work of the President, and lauded the participants for the valuable advice in implementation of agenda items. Besides other decisions, it was agreed to hold the annual conference on 22nd of october 2021, the martyrdom day of Late Gayoor sb, in consonance with Covid 19 SoPs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.