Prof J P Sharma takes over as Vice-Chancellor SKUAST-Kashmir

Srinagar: Prof J P Sharma took over as Vice-Chancellor, SKUAST-Kashmir. On his joining, Sharma was greeted by teaching and non-teaching staff of the University, who assured him full cooperation in taking the University to newer heights. Prof.
Sharma while thanking the gathering assured of furthering the
Research, Extension and Academic pursuits of the Varsity and laid stress on implementation of new education policy, applied research, innovation driven and farmer centric extension, entrepreneurial development, value addition & marketing of agricultural/livestock products.
During the introductory meet he briefed about the ways and means of achieving sustainable social development through agriculture and allied sectors, and contribution towards doubling the famers’ income.
Prof. Sharma presently holding the post of Vice-Chancellor, SKUAST-Jammu has remained Joint Director, Extension and Director, Centre for Advance Faculty Training (Extension) at Indian Agricultural Research Institute (Pusa), New Delhi. He did his PhD from IIT Delhi and Post-Graduation from GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar and was awarded fellowships from IIT and UNDP respectively. Prof. Sharma has handled number of institutional and externally funded research projects of national relevance. As chief editor and editor of national and international journals, he has promoted technological advances made in agricultural science in the country and beyond.
He has published 106 research papers in reputed journals, 283 popular articles in magazines and newspapers, 51 book, 60 book chapters. He is member of various National and International Professional Committees and invited as consultants/expert for Planning Commission, DBT, DST, Vigyan Bharti (VIBHA), Member National Advisory board of Agrivision, AERC governing body,Member Indian Council of Cultural Relations (ICCR), Board Member, Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) Dehradun, Coordinator of Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (MoHRD), Pandit Deendayal Upadhaya Krishi Shiksha Yojana (MoA&FW). Dr. Sharma is recipient of more than 60 awards/recognition including Dr. Rajendra Prasad
Purskar and Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR, Best Agricultural Extension Scientists Award of IARI, Raj Bhasha Gaurav Puraskar of Ministry of Home Affairs,Shanti Prasad Goel Memorial Award, Manthan Award-South Asia and Dr. G.S.Vidyarthi
Award for his outstanding contributions in the field of agricultural extension.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.