6 Kashmiris arrested by Rajasthan Police, released: Veeri

JAMMU: Minister for Revenue, Abdul Rehman Veeri informed the House that the Rajasthan Police has released six persons who were earlier arrested by the BSF.

The minister informed the House that four persons namely Ehsaan Ahmad Mir, Athar Majeed Shah, Zaffar Qureshi, Sayeem Wani, Ghulam Mohammed (Driver) and Shameem Awan, all residents of Bandipora were in the custody of Rajasthan Police.

The Minister was responding to a point raised by MLA Usman Majeed in the House in this regard.

He said as per the information provided by Rajasthan Police these persons were stopped by BSF as they were moving in prohibited area and were handed over to concerned police station.

“When police questioned them, they told the police that they started their journey from Amritsar and were using GPS for shortest possible route to Jaisalmer. They reached IGNP canal area by mistake (prohibited area). JIC of Jaisalmer questioned them,” Veeri quoted Rajasthan Police as saying.

He said all the persons were released on Sunday evening as per Rajasthan police and further details are awaited

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.