Yousuf Bhat Chairs Privilege Committee meeting

Jammu: A meeting of Committee on Privileges of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly was held here today under the Chairmanship of MLA, Mohammad Yousuf Bhat

The Committee discussed the Breach of Privilege given by MLA, R S Pathania against the then Commissioner Secretary, Education Department.

MLAs Usman Abdul Majid, Javed Hassan Beigh, Dina Nath Bhagat and Aijaz Ahmad Mir attended the meeting and put forth several innovative measures to further streamline the working of the Committee.

Pertinently, then Commissioner Secretary, Education Department has submitted a written request to the Committee saying that he should be exempted from the proceedings of the Committee since he is holding a constitutional post.

In this regard, the Committee directed the Assembly Secretariat to write a letter to Advocate General to seek his legal opinion on the matter so that it could be resolved at the earliest.

Among others, Director School Education, Ravinder Singh, then ZEO Majalta, Nizamudin besides Additional Secretary Assembly, Naseem Jan, Deputy Secretary Assembly, Abdul Qayoom Mir and other senior officers and officials of Assembly Secretariat were present in the meeting.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.