AoA, workers ‘demands’ figure in PDP-BJP CC meet

Srinagar: The Agenda of Alliance (AoA) and the demands of the workers figured in the discussions prominently during the first ever meeting of the Coordination Committee (CC) set up by the two coalition partners BJP and the PDP.

The meeting held for the first time after the Mehbooba led government took over was chaired by Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Nirmal Singh while as Jugal Kishore Sharma, Shamsher Singh Manhas, Thupstan Chhewang, all MPs and Dr Narinder Singh, State general secretary (all BJP), Abdul Rehman Veeri, Revenue Minister, Sartaj Madni, State vice president, Tarlok Singh Bajwa, former Rajya Sabha members and Dillawar Mir, former Minister also participated.

Sources privy to the meeting that the members discussed ways and means to ensure better coordination between the alliance partners.

“The participants decided to tell ministers to work on ground and resolve the issues of workers. They also discussed the implementation of the AoA,” sources said.

 Senior PDP leader Sartaj Madni said that Coordination Committee discussed the governance and administrative issues in the state.

“We discussed all these issues for better coordination between the coalition partners,” Madni said.

 BJP leader Jugal Kishore said that the meeting was held in a cordial atmosphere. “We discussed how to ensure better coordination among the alliance partners. We also discussed how the ministers can work in a better and coordinated way for the overall development of the state.”

 Earlier, the Coordination Committee meeting had been called in Srinagar on October 28. However, due to delay in nomination of new members by the PDP, the meeting was postponed.

 In 2015, when the PDP-BJP formed the government headed by late Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, the coalition partners formed the coordination committee.

The 10-member coordination committee was formed to ensure the agenda for the alliance is implemented within the defined time-frame and all the policy issues adhered to in letter and spirit.

The committee was at that time headed by Nirmal Singh and comprised of PDP President Mehbooba Mufti, BJP state chief Jugal Kishore, Muzaffar Hussain Beigh, Shamsher Singh, Tariq Hamid Karra, ChoudharyLal Singh, Abdul RehmanVeeri, Chewang Dorjee and Naeem Akhter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.