Engineers’ delegation calls on Finance Minister

Srinagar: A delegation of All J&K Engineering Graduates Coordination Committee called on Minister for Finance, Employment & Labour, Dr Haseeb Drabu here today and apprised him of the issues confronting the engineering fraternity in the State.

The delegation was led by Er Farooq Ahmed Ganie, President, J&K Civil Engineering Graduates Association and Er Firdous Ahad Bhat, President, J&K Mechanical Engineering Graduates Association.

The delegation sought Finance Minister’s intervention in issues like approval of running grades (assured career progression), removal of pay anomaly/disparity at all levels and enhancement of fixed travel allowance from Rs 30 per month to Rs 3000—5000 per month.

The delegation also apprised the Minister about the menace of adhocism prevalent in the engineering departments and sought his intervention in redressing and removing pay disparity and bringing it at par with other professions such as Health and Animal Husbandry Departments.

The delegation also demanded implementation of “Running Grades” for engineering community. The delegation also brought in to the notice of the Finance Minister the issue of degradation of pay grades of all cadres in previous successive pay commissions and stressed that the engineers, being low paid professionals, should be treated equal among all professions as for as the wages and emoluments are concerned.

A joint memorandum of J&K Civil Engineering Graduates Association (J&K CEGA) and J&K Mechanical Engineering Graduates Association (J&K MEGA) was submitted to the Minister in this regard.

The Minister gave a patient hearing to the delegation and assured them of speedy redress of all their grievances, particularly implementation of ‘Running Grades (Assured Career Progression)” and removal of the “Pay anomalies/Disparities” and “Enhancement of FTA” etc.

The delegation also included the Executive and Guidance Council Members of both the associations including Er Basharat Ahmad Kawoosa, Er Ashaq Ahmad Ashaq, Er Shakeel-u-Rahman, Er Muzaffar Ahmad Jan, Er Ansar Hamid Sheikh, Er Fayaz Ahmad Ganie, Er Faisal Farooq, Er Umar Jan and Er Ajaz Ahmad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.