Green Mission: LG To Head Revamped FDA

Srinagar: The Government on Friday ordered the constitution of ‘Revamped Union Territory Forest Development Agency, UT Level Executive Committee, UT Steering Committee and District Steering Committee(s) for effective planning, implementation and monitoring of the National Mission for Green India (GIM) in the Jammu and Kashmir.
The Revamped UT Forest Development Agency will be headed by Lieutenant Governor and members include Chief Secretary, J&K , Administrative Secretary, Department of Forests, Ecology and Environment , Principal Chief Conservator of Forests , Chief Wildlife Warden , Nodal Officer (Forest Conservation) , Chairman, Executive Committee, all FDAs (CFs), Member Secretary, Executive Committee, all FDAs (Hq DFOs (T)), Nodal officer (State CAMPA), Representative of three “eminent” NGOs of the UT— Representative of WWF- India Nazir be Nazir, National Society for protection of Water Resources, Wetlands & Forests (NGO) and Nadeem Qadri, Wildlife Conservation Fund, (NGO)— as well Nodal Officer, GIM, Chief Conservator of Forests, (Planning & Projects).
Its terms of Reference among others include to provide for overall guidance for the Mission in achieving Mission goals and objectives. It has been also tasked to oversee implementation of the board policy framework in achieving Mission goals and objectives. “The committee shall meet at least once a year.”
Union territory Level Executive Committee shall be 12-member and will be headed by administrative Secretary, Department of Forests, Ecology and Environment, as per the order.
Its terms and conditions include preparation of UT APO and its submission to UT Screening Committee for finalization; Technical approval of District level APOs; Preparation of the annual reports of the UT GIM; Ensuring programmatic convergence at the L1 landscape level and Providing technical guidance for implementation of GIM The committee shall meet at a frequency to be decided by the UT Government but at least twice in a year.
The UT Steering Committee comprises 14 members and would be headed by Chief Secretary. The District Steering Committee, comprising eights members and headed by respective District Magistrate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.