Director NIT Srinagar inaugurates Torus-first design thinking club of Kashmir

Srinagar: Director National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar, Prof. (Dr.) Rakesh Sehgal on Tuesday inaugurated Torus- first design thinking club of Kashmir.
The event was organized by Mechanical Department students (2019-23) batch and Director along with Registrar NIT Prof. Kaiser Bukhari were guests of honor on the occasion.
The club was inaugurated in presence of the Regional head Electronics Sector Skills Council of India (ESSCI), Virender Diman and Advisor ESSCI, Satyanarayan Moharana, Arun Kumar Singh – Director Sales Phytec Embedded Pvt Ltd.
While Prof. GA Harmain ( Dean R&C ), Prof. Shamim A Lone
( Dean Faculty Welfare ), Prof. Nazir Ahmad Sheikh ( HOD Mechanical Department ), Prof. Ajaz Hussain Mir ( HOD ECE Department ), Dr. Saad Parveez ( Head IIEDC ), and Dr. Obbu Chandra Sekhar ( Head T&P ), Dr.Dinesh Kumar R (Faculty Incharge- Torus) was also present on the occasion.
On the occasion, Prof. Sehgal said it is a proud moment for all of us to inaugurate the Torus, which is the brainchild of Dr. Dinesh Kumar Rajendra from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, who has been working very hard and has taken this responsibility in a nice way.
“The mandate of Torus is very nice and I have also gone through its brochure also and it appears a great idea to involve UG and PG students in this kind of grand success to the club and great learning for all of it in the campus,” he said.
Prof. Sehgal said the club will act as a platform for those students who are interested in designing courses and they can showcase their talent and skills to be professionals.
In his message, Registrar NIT Srinagar, Prof Kaiser Bukhari said many students were interested in designing but there was no platform but now Torus will help them in exploring their talent. In future, it will organise workshops, and seminars on various topics to help the students, he said.
Prof. Bukhari also appreciated Dr. Dinesh Kumar Rajendra and his team for working hard in creating the design and thinking club at the NIT Srinagar. Dr. Dinesh Kumar Rajendra said the idea of this club is to help students who have an interest in creative designing thinking.
After the brainstorming exercise, a good team was formulated to manage the club. He also expressed his gratitude to Director NIT for approving the club on short-term notice, he said.
Advisor ESSCI, Satyanarayan Moharana urged students that club should be inter-departmental in nature so that every student can be a member and it should be open to all.
“Take up projects which are available everywhere including case studies, social projects. Srinagar city is among the largest cities in the region and there are many departments who are awaiting resolution of their problems,” he said.
Mr. Mohrana said they are glad that they are part of the esteemed club.
On the occasion,. Arun Kumar Singh – Director Sales Phytec Embedded Pvt Ltd said designing and thinking has good scope in India and we should promote it at every level.
“Our economy is going to back because we are not manufacturing our own products. The primary thing is that engineers should not seek government jobs rather than creating opportunities for others,” he said.
Singh said engineer means creator and creation is the best job for anybody,” he said. He also awarded the first design assignment to Torus as an Industry Partner for designing outer casing for oximeter and also accepted to offer the students of NIT Srinagar with design software.
Torus club will be driven by the following student team for the academic year (2021-2022) and around 400 participants including faculties and students joined the event in virtual mode.
Sahil Jangral will be the president of the club, while Malik Arsala Nissar will be its vice president, Shaista Akhtar as Treasurer, Tanveer Gulzar-Secretary, Bonumanhanthi Chandrasekhar and Youhana Yasoob as Design Managers, Kiran Jot Singh and Ashika Yadav as event managers.
Manik Showkat and Anmol Sharma as its Public Relation Managers, Samreen Zahoor and Ankit Yadav as content managers, Vivek Chauhan and Ayush as social media managers, Kritika Sharma, Sakshi Singh, Jamee Bashir as web developers. Each team has its own student force as members working for giving solutions for industrial problems.
While a formal vote of thanks was presented by Dr. Dinesh Kumar Rajendran. He thanked the guests and all the members of the club for their participation and promised many more such events in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.