VC SKUAST-Jammu / Kashmir awarded LifeTime Achievement Award

SRINAGAR: Prof. J. P. Sharma, Vice Chancellor has been awarded Lifetime achievement award by Agriculture Today Group under the Category of Agri-Extension Awards 2021.
The eminent Jury Panel of India Agri-Extension Awards 2021 made a selection in this regard and decided to present the award to Prof. Sharma for his exemplary contribution in agricultural extension for farmers’ empowerment in India and beyond. The award was conferred through a Virtual Event held on Friday 09th April, 2021 in which Dr. TrilochanMohapatra, Secretary (DARE) & DG (ICAR) was the Chief Guest. The award ceremony was preceded by panel discussions on opportunities, innovations, trends and challenges.
The April 2021 edition of Agriculture Today Magazine shall be showcasing the winners of Awards. Agriculture Today group has always on the forefront in providing information, influencing policies, creating business networks and recognizing achievers. Dr J. P. Sharma is presently Vice-Chancellor of Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology of Jammu, J&K since 15th June 2020.He is also holding the Additional Charge of Vice-Chancellor, SKUAST-Kashmir.
Previously he worked as Joint Director (Extension) and as Head, Division of Agricultural Extension and Director, Centre for Advanced Faculty Training (Extension) at Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi. He has vast experience of over 33 years conducting strategic research, guiding, teaching postgraduate students, conducting national/ international training programmes and carrying out agricultural development interventions at the national level.
He earned his Doctoral degree from IIT, Delhi and Post Graduation from GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, and was awarded Fellowships from IIT, Delhi and UNDP respectively. He was associated with 20 externally funded projects; funded by ICAR, DST, DBT, NABARD etc and 13 institutional research projects as PI/Co-PI. He has designed and developed innovative extension approaches like IARI-Post-Office Linkage Extension Model (KrishiDak), Cyber Extension Model, Expert System, e-learning Module, National Extension Programme, IARI-VO Partnership Programme, Innovative Farmer Led Extension System etc., for better and faster dissemination of technologies.
Dr. Sharma introduced/taught 11 postgraduate courses in agricultural extension and guided 21 students as Chairman/Co-Chairman/Member, Advisory Committee. He has published 106 research papers in reputed journals, 283 popular articles in magazines and newspapers, 51 books, 60 book chapters. Dr. J.P. Sharma organized more than 100 trainings including National and International programmes as Course Director on the topics of national relevance. He is member of various National and International Professional Committees and invited as consultants/expert for Planning Commission, DBT, DST, Member National Advisory board of Agrivision, AERC governing body, Member Indian Council of Cultural Relations (ICCR), Member Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE), Dehradun, Coordinator of MeraGaonMera Gaurav (Government flagship scheme), Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (MoHRD). Dr. Sharma is recipient of more than 60 awards/recognition including DrRajendra Prasad Puruskar and Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR, Best Agricultural Extension Scientist Award of IARI, Raj Bhasha Gaurav Puraskar of Ministry of Home Affairs, Manthan Award-South Asia and DrG.S.Vidyarthi Award for his outstanding contributions in the field of agricultural extension.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.