Nitish unanimously elected as leader of NDA in Bihar, set to return as CM

PATNA: The NDA in Bihar unanimously elected Nitish Kumar as its leader in the state legislature on Sunday, paving the way for his return as the chief minister for the fourth consecutive term.
Senior BJP leader and Union defence minister Rajnath Singh, who had flown down as an observer of the BJP, announced this after a meeting of legislators.
Nitish, accompanied by senior NDA leaders, also met governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan and staked claim to form the next government in the state.
Talking to reporters outside his residence upon returning from the Raj Bhavan, Kumar said the swearing-in will take place Monday evening and parried questions about details like whether BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi would be returning as his deputy.
“The governor was handed over the letter of support from all four constituents of the NDA. As per his direction, we shall be taking oath at the Raj Bhavan, tomorrow, around 4-4.30pm”, said Kumar, who is on course to become the longest serving Chief Minister of Bihar.
Tarkishore Prasad, the MLA from Katihar, has been elected as the party’s leader in the state assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.