Governor chairs 27th EC Meeting of SMVDU


Kakryal: Governor N. N. Vohra, Chancellor of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, chaired the 27th meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the University, here on Friday.

Chancellor stressed that the University should urgently finalize a 5 year Rolling Plan to enhance the Faculty strength, enlarge the logistical infrastructure and increase the intake of students, from the State and all over the country, to take their number to at least double the existing 1700 scholars, all of whom are staying in the hostels.

While re-iterating the importance of continuously advancing the standards of teaching and research, Chancellor was happy that students were participating in quality international conferences and the number of research papers written by students and faculty had also increased. Chancellor urged VC to ensure that the University fully harnesses the potential of on line learning mechanisms, especially Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) through SWAYAM and NPTEL and National Digital Library, ensuring that the benefits percolate to all the students.

The Council approved the recommendations of the Academic Audit Committee Report to be implemented in a structured and planned manner; Intellectual Property Rights Policy, introduction of B.Tech. Programmes in Civil Engineering, Food Technology and Electrical Engineering; introduction of Genetics as a specialized programme in MSc. Biosciences; enhancement of honoraria for external experts/ external examiners; conduct of remedial classes for academically weaker students, modification in Students’ Merit-cum-Means Scholarship Scheme; and the conduct of 6th Convocation of the University.

Prof. Sanjeev Jain, VC, SMVDU, apprised the Council about the students’ placement in the current academic session. He informed that Cummins India, Samsung India Electronics Pvt. Ltd., Tata Consultancy Services, Wipro Ltd., ICICI Prudential, Mahindra First Choice Wheels Ltd., Mahindra Logistics, Indian Navy, Smartprix, and Directi Internet Solutions and other known Coys had hired about 80 students of the University.

Prof. Sanjeev Jain, Vice Chancellor, Sh. R. P. Agarwal, former Secy. MHRD; Prof. K. L. Chopra, former Director IIT Kharagpur; Prof. D. P. Aggarwal, former Chairman UPSC; Prof. R. D. Sharma Vice Chancellor University of Jammu; Sh. Jitendra Kumar, Chief Executive Officer of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board; Prof. D. Mukhopadhyay, Dean Faculty of Management; Prof. Kamaiah Bandi, Head School of Economics, Dr. V. K. Tripathi, In-charge Dean Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; Dr. Yugal Khajuria, In-charge Dean of Students, Dr. Sumeet Gupta, Associate Dean Academic Affairs; and Registrar Prof. V.K. Bhat participated in the EC Meeting.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.