UGC ordered 123 deemed-to-be varsities to drop the university tag

In a major directive, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has ordered a total of 123 deemed-to-be varsities to drop the university tag from their name. This comes after the Supreme Court in its November 3 ruling directed the cancelling of engineering degrees given by deemed universities through the correspondence course.

The apex court also suspended such degrees granted by four ‘deemed to be universities’ between 2001 and 2005. The new order by UGC covers those varsities that are yet to be granted “deemed” status by the commission.

UGC on Friday issued the notice to the 123 varsities with the subject line- “UGC Letter to Deemed to be Universities regd. Use of the word ‘University’ by Institutions Deemed to be Universities-Directions issued by Hon’ble Supreme Court.”

In the letter, UGC states that- The Hon’ble Supreme Court vide orders dates 03.11.2017 under para 51 and 53 (XII) observed and directed as under, “we must also put on record what we have observed during the course of the hearing and consideration of the present matters. It has come to the notice that many institutions which are conferred the status of Deemed to be university are using the word “University”, which in our view is opposed to the spirit of Section 23of the UGC Act. The UGC shall take appropriate steps to stop such practice.”

The UGC in its letter said, “The institutions are hereby directed to restrain from using the word ‘university’ with its name, failing which necessary action would be initiated in accordance with the UGC (institutions deemed-to-be-universities) Regulations, 2016. Instead, the Institution may mention the word ‘Deemed to be University’ within parenthesis.” Interestingly, the circular carries a tacit acknowledgment that some deemed universities may not be at fault as the government, while notifying their deemed status, did so with the word ‘university’ in their name. “Such deemed-to-be-universities can also apply for an alternative name with the HRD Ministry,” UGC secretary P K Thakur said, as quoted by Indian Express.

Here are the names of the Institutes listed by UGC-

  1. Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM), Visakhapatnam
  2. Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation, Guntur
  3. Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Tirupati
  4. Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, Anantapur
  5. Vignan’s Foundation for Science, Technology and Research, Guntur
  6. North Eastern Regional Institute of Science & Technology
  7. Nava Nalanda Mahavihara
  8. Punjab Engineering College
  9. Indian Agricultural Research Institute
  10. Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT)
  11. Indian Law Institute
  12. Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences (ILBS)
  13. Jamia Hamdard
  14. National Museum Institute of History of Art, Conservation and Musicology
  15. National University of Educational Planning & Administration
  16. Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthana
  17. Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapith
  18. TERI School of Advanced Studies
  19. Gujarat Vidyapith
  20. Sumandeep Vidyapeeth
  21. Lingaya’s University
  22. Maharishi Markandeshwar University
  23. Manav Rachna International University
  24. National Brain Research Centre
  25. National Dairy Research Institute
  26. National Institute of Food Technology, Entrepreneurship & Management
  27. Central Institute of Buddhist Studies
  28. Birla Institute of Technology-Mesra
  29. B.L.D.E. University
  30. Christ University
  31. Indian Institute of Science (IISc)-Bangalore
  32. International Institute of Information Technology
  33. Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeswara University
  34. Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  35. Jain University
  36. K.L.E. Academy of Higher Education and Research
  37. Manipal Academy of Higher Education
  38. NITTE University
  39. Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Research
  40. Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education
  41. Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana
  42. Yenepoya University
  43. Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth
  44. Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology
  45. Kerala Kalamandalam
  46. Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education
  47. Bharati Vidyapeeth
  48. Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Fisheries
  49. D.Y. Patil Educational Society
  50. Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences
  51. Deccan College Postgraduate & Research Institute
  52. Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth
  53. Gokhale Institute of Politics & Economics
  54. Homi Bhabha National Institute
  55. Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research
  56. Institute of Armament Technology
  57. International Institute for Population Sciences
  58. Institute of Chemical Technology
  59. Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences
  60. MGM Institute of Health Sciences
  61. Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies
  62. Padmashree Dr. D.Y. Patl Vidyapeeth
  63. Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences
  64. SYMBIOSIS International University
  65. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
  66. Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  67. Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth
  68. Kalinga Insitute of Industrial Technology
  69. Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences,
  70. Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology (SLIET)
  71. Thapar Institute of Engineering & Technology
  72. Sri Balaji Vidyapeeth
  73. Banasthali Vidyapith
  74. Birla Institute of Technology & Science
  75. Institute of Advanced Studies in Education
  76. I.I.S. (Deemed to be University)
  77. Jain Vishva Bharati Institute
  78. Janardan Rai Nagar Rajasthan Vidyapeeth
  79. LNM Institute of Information Technology
  80. Academy of Maritime Education and Training
  81. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham
  82. Avinashilingam Institute for Home Science & Higher Education for Women
  83. Bharath Institute of Higher Education & Research
  84. B.S. Abdur Rahman Institute of Science & Technology
  85. Chennai Mathematical Institute
  86. Chettinad Academy of Research and Education (CARE)
  87. Gandhigram Rural Institute
  88. Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS)
  89. Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Higher Education
  90. Karunya Institute of Technology and Sciences
  91. Karpagam Academy of Higher Education
  92. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute
  93. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research
  94. Noorul Islam Centre for Higher Education,
  95. Periyar Maniammai Institute of Science & Technology (PMIST)
  96. Ponnaiyah Ramajayam Institute of Science & Technology (PRIST),
  97. S.R.M Institute of Science and Technology
  98. Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology
  99. Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences
  100. Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA)
  101. Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Vishwa Mahavidyalaya
  102. Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute
  103. St. Peter’s Institute of Higher Education and Research
  104. Vel’s Institute of Science, Technology & Advanced Studies (VISTAS)
  105. Vellore Institute of Technology
  106. Vinayaka Mission’s Research Foundation
  107. Vel Tech Rangarajan Dr. Sagunthala R & D Institute of Science and
  108. International Institute of Information Technology,
  109. ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education
  110. Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology & Sciences
  111. Bhatkhande Music Institute
  112. Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies
  113. Dayalbagh Educational Institute
  114. Indian Veterinary Research Institute
  115. Jaypee Institute of Information Technology
  116. Nehru Gram Bharati Vishwavidyalaya
  117. Shobit Institute of Engineering & Technology
  118. Santosh University
  119. Forest Research Institute
  120. Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya
  121. Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.