JKP to organize Police Martyrs Memorial Football Tournament


Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir Police is organizing ‘15th Police Martyrs Memorial Football Tournament-2017’ at Srinagar. The Tournament will be played at Synthetic Turf TRC Ground from November 10 and will conclude on November 19.

Inspector General of Police S. Ahfadul Mujtaba shared details of the tournament with the media persons today at a press conference in Srinagar.

“The tournament is organized every year by J&K Police in the memory of brave Jawans and officers of the force, who laid down their lives for the security, sovereignty and integrity of the Nation,” he said, adding that the tournament could not be held for last four years due to busy schedule of Football Association of J&K in the valley.

According to the statement issued said that the tournament was initiated in the year 1998 in the memory of Inspector Mushtaq Ahmad Baba, the then SHO Kothibagh Srinagar, who made supreme sacrifice while protecting the civilians during a terrorist attack at Regal Chowk Srinagar on October 31st 1997. “With the passage of years, the tournament grew in size and stature and renowned teams from across the country/state started participating. J&K Police in collaboration with J&K Football Association has till date successfully organized 14 editions of the Tournament at Srinagar. The event is being conducted under Civic Action Programme from 10th to 19th November-2017 at Synthetic Turf Ground, TRC Srinagar,” he added.

IGP said that it has been the endeavour of the Jammu and Kashmir Police to maintain & promote cordial and co-operative relations with the public and over the years it has been organizing various programmes under CAP to achieve this goal. As part of such an initiative, the J&K Police is keen on organizing various sports activities for the youth in the valley.

The Tournament is being organized under the aegis of JKFA on knock out basis and 24 teams are participating in the tournament which include DFA Bandipora, DFA Kupwara DFA Baramulla, DFA Sopore, DFA Pattan, DFA Ganderbal, DFA Pulwama, DFA Anantnag, DFA Kulgam, DFA Shopian DFA Budgam, DFA Jammu XI-A, DFA Jammu XI-B, J&K Bank XI, J&K Forest XI, J&K F&S XI, AG’s Office XI, Lonestar KFC, Real Kashmir FC, J&K Police XI, State Football Academy Sgr, J&K SPDC XI, Maharaja FC, J&K SRTC-FC. ₹1.00 lac has been kept for the winners of the tournament besides a beautiful trophy.₹75000/- along with trophy for runners-up of the tournament. Likewise, ₹50000/- for third place with a beautiful trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.