Police confirms LeT hand in yatra attack, says three conspirators arrested

Police Sunday confirmed that militant organization Lashker-e-Toiba (LeT), was responsible for the deadly July 10 attack on Amarnath pilgrims that left eight pilgrims dead and 18 others injured. It said that three conspirators have been arrested while police is on the lookout for the fourth, who happens to be a militant.

IGP Kashmir Munir Khan confirmed that the alleged conspirators have been arrested by the Special Investigation Team (SIT), which conducted the investigations in the case under FIR No. 157/2017 U/S 302, 307, 427 RPC 7/27 A. Act, 16, 18, 20 UA(P) Act 1967 of P/S Anantnag involving SANJY vehicle attack at Batengoo District Anantnag.

He said that during the investigation three accused persons have  been arrested so far. These accused persons were identified as Bilal Ahmad Reshi (Shopkeeper), of Iqbal Mohalla Bijbehara, Aijaz Ahmad Wagay (Med. Rep.)of Poshkreeri, Sirigufwara and Zahoor Ahmad Sheikh (Adhoc SRTC Driver) of Khudwani.

The IGP revealed that the banned outfit organization Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT) was behind the said attack.

The accused, who had allegedly provided vehicles and shelter to the terrorists, were produced before a local court, the IGP said.

He said that Ismail, a Pakistan militant of Lashkar along with two others and a local Kashmiri carried out the attack.

Khan further revealed the accused used code words like ‘Shaukat’ for yatri vehicle and ‘Bilal’ for CRPF vehicle.

The attack was initially planned on July 9, however, due to no movement of CRPF or yatri vehicle, it could not be executed on that day.

“We are quite near to them. Hopefully will be neutralizing the militants soon. It can be today, tomorrow,” Khan added.

Eight people were killed in the attack when the militants opened fire on a bus carrying Amarnath pilgrims.

Four LeT militants, led by their leader Abu Ismail, had carried out the attack. Two of the four militants suspected to be involved in the attack have been gunned down by security forces recently. the case is still being investigated.

The IGP said that investigation conducted has established that these accused persons in association with four militants Ismail @ Haroon, Maaviya, Furqan and Yawar Bashir @ Ayan S/O Bashir Ahmad Wani R/O Hablish, Devsar Kulgam carried out the attack.

He said that among four militants three were foreigners and one is a local. Pertinently, Yawar had joined LeT in the month of February  2017. Before that he was a student of religious seminary Darul-Uloom Bilaliya, Srinagar. He looted weapon from police personnel on 04-02-2017 at Hazratbal, Srinagar and joined militant ranks, the IGP added.

He said the conspiracy was hatched by the militants with active support of arrested persons by way of transporting the militants through vehicles, providing shelter to them  and actively carrying out reconnaissance of places for attack.

The accused persons have been arrested, produced before court and are on police remand, the IGP said.

He said that during the investigation tangible material evidences have been collected for establishing the complicity of the arrested persons in the crime.

Investigation of case is in progress for apprehension of the absconding accused persons, the IGP added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.