Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar’s chief minister on Thursday with the support of 53 MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He had resigned yesterday evening, after breaking off from the grand alliance.

BJP’s Sushil Modi was sworn-in as his deputy.

The 132 legislators supporting Kumar include 71 from Kumar’s JD(U), 53 from the BJP, two each from the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party and the Lok Janshakti Party, one from Hindustani Awam Morcha and three Independents.The JD(U) leader had quit as chief minister after citing major dissatisfaction with his former ally, Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal.

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar chief minister with BJP’s support added by on
View all posts by Guest →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.