20 Rescue Teams to be deployed during Amarnath Yatra

The government with a view to ensure a smooth Yatra for pilgrims is deputing 20 rescue teams to deal with any emerging disaster like situation during the Amarnath Yatra.

The Governor N.N Vohra, Chairman of Amarnathji Shrine Board (SASB) today reviewed the arrangements to be made for providing rescue facilities in case of any emergent situation during the Yatra.

Chairman was informed by Umang Narula, CEO SASB, that a total of 24 Rescue Teams will be deployed during the forthcoming Yatra. These teams would be drawn from the personnel of J&K Armed Police, SDRF and the NDRF and equipped with all rescue equipment including Oxygen Cylinders. 

8 Mountain Rescue Teams from the J&K Armed Police will be deployed to help women and sick Yatris in negotiating difficult stretches on the Yatra routes.

Narula further informed that a total of 12 Avalanche Rescue Teams  viz  11 teams of the State Disaster Response Force and 01 team of CRPF would be deployed along both the routes. Of these, 7 teams would be deployed along the Pahalgam route at Chandanwari, Pissu Top, Zojibal-Nagakoti; Sheshnag, M.G.Top, Panjtarni, Holy Cave and 5 teams along the Baltal route at Baltal, Domel, Railpatri, Brarimarg and Sangam Top. Besides, 4 Search and Rescue teams of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) are also being deployed at Pahalgam, Chandanwari, Sheshnag, Panjtarni and Baltal.

35 Dog Squads would be deployed by the Army, J&K Police, BSF and CRPF along the Pahalgam and Baltal routes, of which 27 would be on the Pahalgam axis and 8 will be stationed on the Baltal route. These dog squads are used for carrying out anti- sabotage checks and other security related duties.

Governor Vohra recalled, with high appreciation, the valuable contribution made by the Rescue Teams in saving many precious lives during the previous Yatras by providing timely assistance and effecting quick evacuation of pilgrims in distress.

The meeting was attended by V.K. Mohanti, Additional Director General of Police, Armed, J&K; Muneer Ahmed Khan, Inspector General of Police, Kashmir; Jitendra K. Singh, Addl. CEO, SASB; P.S Rajora, DIG, CRPF Kashmir; Narinder Paul, DIG, CRPF North Kashmir; Sanjay Shiva, DIG, BSF; A.R. War, Additional Commissioner, Kashmir; Aamir Ali, Director, Disaster Management, J&K;  M.Y Malik, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Anantnag; Shahnawaz Bukhari, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Ganderbal and Fayaz Ahmed, SSP Ganderbal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.