CJ administers oath to newly appointed judges of JK High Court

Chief Justice, High Court of Jammu and Kashmir, Justice Badar Durrez Ahmed today administered oath of office to three newly appointed judges of J&K High Court at a modest oath ceremony held in the Court Room of the Chief Justice here at High Court Complex.

The Judges who took oath of office included, Justice Sanjeev Kumar, Justice Maharaj Krishan Hanjura and Justice Sanjay Kumar Gupta.

Earlier, the Warrants of Appointments of new Judges issued by the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee were read out by the Registrar General of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir Mr. Sanjay Dhar.

Registrar General also read the Letter of Authorization issued by Governor of Jammu & Kashmir, authorizing Chief Justice of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir, to administer the oath of office to the newly appointed Judges.

Congratulating the newly appointed Judges, the Chief Justice wished them a successful tenure ahead.

Besides, Justice Ramalingam Sudhakar, Justice Mohammad Yaqoob Mir, Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey, Justice Tashi Rabstan, Minister for Law and Rural Development Department Abdul Haq, Minister for Agriculture Ghulam Nabi Lone Hanjura,  former Chief Justice and  Chairman, State Accountability Commission Justice Bashir Ahmad Khan, Chief Secretary, B B Vyas, Director General of Police, Dr S P Vaid,  Principal secretary to Chief Minister, Rohit Kansal, Principal Secretary Home, R K Goyal,  Secretary, Law Abdul Majid Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir Baseer Ahmad Khan,  Deputy Commissioner, Srinagar Dr Farooq Ahmad Lone,   Advocate General, retired Judges, high ranking civil, police and judicial officers,  Members of Bar Councils and various Bar Associations, senior  Advocates, officers and staff of the high Court Registry, family members and  friends of newly appointed judges were present on the oath taking ceremony.

Pertinently, there are 17 positions in the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir including Chief Justice. Of them 12 are permanent judges and 5 additional judges.  With the appointment of these three judges, the strength of the High Court Judges has gone up to 12 as presently there were only nine Judges including Chief Justice.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.