Cabinet to meet on June 6


The PDP-BJP Cabinet headed by Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti is likely to meet on Tuesday (June 6) in Srinagar, sources said.

Sources in the government said that the cabinet will meet in Civil Secretariat on June 6 and will give its nod to new industrial policy which was amended after outrage over the previous policy that was drafted during governor’s rule.

Minister for Revenue, Disaster Management, Relief, Rehabilitation and Reconstruction (DMRRR) Abdul Rehman Veeri confirmed to ‘Kashmir Vision’ that the cabinet meeting is being held on June 6.

He said that the meeting is being held at 11 am and will be chaired by Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti. “We have been notified through circulation mode that the cabinet meeting is being held.”

Veeri said that the meeting agenda has not been circulated as of now.

Sources however, said that though the situation has normalised, the prevailing differences between PDP and BJP over key policy issues including handling of Kashmir situation would be discussed in the meeting.

Sources also confirmed that the cabinet will amend its earlier order on cabinet sub-committee (CSC), constituted to review the inclusion of KPS cadre into IPS.

“The previous cabinet order mentioned Naeem Akhtar as Education minister. Since his portfolio was changed, the order has to be amended. After the amended order, the CSC on cadre review of KPS officers will hold meeting immediately after the cabinet meeting,” sources said.

The delaying of inclusion of KPS officers into IPS has drawn outrage from police officers and has recently created fissures in the ruling alliance after BJP had opposed it in the last cabinet meeting where Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti had left in a huff.

To iron out the difference, the government formed a cabinet sub-committee that included six ministers, three each of PDP and BJP.

The sub-committee includes Minister for Industries & Commerce Chandra Prakash Ganga as Convenor, Minister for Finance, Culture and Labour Member & Employment, Dr Haseeb A Drabu, Minister for Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs Choudhary Zulfikar Ali, and Minister for Public Works Naeem Akhtar, Minister for Health & Medical Education Bali Bhagat and Minister for Forest, Ecology & Environment Lal Singh.

A senior minister of the committee said that the meetings were delayed because of the change in portfolio of Naeem Akhtar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.