Re-polling begins in Budgam amidst tight security

The re-polling in 38 polling stations of Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency, where the bypoll on April 9 was cancelled due to the violence, began today amidst tight security arrangements. The polling began at 7 am and will end at 4 pm.

All these polling stations are located in Budgam district, where seven people were killed during polling on Sunday.

The 38 polling stations, where re-polling was ordered by Election Comission of India were worst hit by the protesting people. 

The district administration has imposed restrictions under Section 144 CrPc in the entire Budgam district, except in the areas where polling is taking place.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J-K, Shantmanu yesterday reviewed the arrangements for the re-poll at a high level meeting convened in Srinagar.

CEO said the poll process at all the polling stations will be videographed. One micro-observer from central government offices will also be deputed for each polling station where re-polling is being conducted.

The counting of the votes for the constituency will take place on April 15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.