JKCA announce 16-member squads for limited overs’ formats

JKCA announce 16-member squads for limited overs’ formats

By Rafiq A Wani

SRINAGAR: The five member selection committee of Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association Friday announced 16-member squads for their limited overs’ leg of 2013-14 season.
The squads were announced after a series of trial matches were held in Jammu in the buildup to Vijay Hazare Trophy One-Day Championship that precedes the inter-state Twenty20 competition that is played for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.
Both squads will be led by star all-rounder Parvez Rasool who will have services of batsman Ian Dev Singh as vice-captain for both formats.
The top performers in the recently concluded Ranji Trophy that saw J&K make history by making to last eight stages for the first time have been retained for the both squads with each featuring some young prospects having performed well at various age-group and club tournaments.
The five wise men of the JKCA  included  Shahid Iqbal, Iqbal Shah, Tilak Singh and Shiban Lal with former first class cricketer Abdur Rauf its chairman have picked eight  players-Parvez, Ian Dev, Samiullah Beigh, Adil Reshi, Wasim Raza, Shubham Khajuria, Ram Dayal and Hardeep Singh- for both formats.
Imran Haroon, Mohammad Mudasir, Aditya Pratap, Raman Datta, Zahoor Sofi, Sajad Sofi, Bandeep Singh and Manish Dogra complete the 50-over squad.
The T20 squad sees the return of star pacer Abid Nabi after being left out of Ranji squad and One-day team and upcoming speedster Mehjoor Ali Sofi who has been performing consistently well. Mehjoor would consider himself unlucky to have missed out on making it to the 50-over squad after emerging as the highest wicket taker in the trial matches.
Some new faces like Vimersh Kaw, Arshid Khawaja  and Ishtiyaq Rasool make it to the T20 squad. Jammu based Paras Sharma, Vijay Dogra and Pranav Gupta also feature in the squad.
The J&K team will have their tails up having put up a stellar show in the Ranji Trophy when they begin their Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign taking host Delhi on February 27.

ONE-DAY SQUAD: Parvez Rasool (captain), Ian Dev Singh(vice captain), Samiullah Beigh, Adil Reshi,Zahoor Sofi, Sajad Sofi, Mohammed Mudasir, Imran Haroon, Wasim Raza, Bandeep Singh, Ram Dayal, Manish Dogra, Aditiya Pratap, Hardeep Singh, Raman Dutta, and Shubam Khajuria.

T20 SQUAD: Parvez Rasool (captain), Ian Dev Singh, Samiullah Beigh, Adil Reshi, , Abid Nabi, Mehjoor Ali, Wasim Raza, Arshid Khawaja,  Ram Dayal Paras Sharma, , Vijay Dogra, Pranav Gupta, Shubam Khajuria, Hardeep Singh, Vimersh Kaw and Ishtiyaq Rasool

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.