DMEF asks govt to come clear on national pension scheme

SRINAGAR: Darbar Move Employees Federation (DMEF), J&K has asked state government to come clear on national pension scheme (NPS).
A meeting was held on Friday under the chairmanship of Mohammad Amin Kilo, state president NPS special cell of DMEF, during which the participants asked the state government to increase the government share from 10% to 14% as adopted by the central government.
Kilo said the less share contributed by the state government is injustice with young employees who are highly qualified and have been appointed in government departments after going through rigorous selection process.
He also took exception of “haphazardly managed” NPS system by the finance department, a statement issued here said.
“It is irony that employees who want to withdraw NPS share have contributed due to certain exigencies in their personal life are not able to withdraw same,” he said.
“Many employees who had applied to withdraw after following all procedures and rules were not able to withdraw as finance department officials have clearly told them no mechanism has been put in place by state government to withdraw the NPS amount from their account,” Kilo said in the meeting.
The DMEF has appealed the state government to redress the issue at the earliest.
State president DMEF Ovais Wani sought personal intervention of Governor and Chief Secretary to solve this grievance of employees at the earliest so that they are not compelled to take to streets to fight for their rights.
He warned the state government not to hurt the interests of employees in any manner. He appealed all EJAC factions and other employee unions of the State to be united for safeguarding the interest of 4.50 lakh employees of J&K.
Wani also appealed Governor for 5% hike in DA to state government employees which central government has already announced for central government employees.
Senior Vice President Khurshed Ahmed, Vice- presidents Abdul Rashid Hafiz and Ghulam Rasool Paul, General Secretary Tufail Ahmed, Chief Organiser Tanveer Ahmed, Publicity Secretary Nazir Ahmed Khan, Treasurer Nazir Ahmed Bhat, Chief Spokesperson Er Bilal Ahmed Lone, Spokesperson Javid Intikhab, Chief Coordinator Irshad-ul- Hamid, Media Secretary Sameer Ajaz Mughal and other senior trade union leaders were present in the meeting.