Cooperate for smooth functioning of Rajya Sabha: VP to pol parties

NEW DELHI: Vice President of India and Chairman of Rajya Sabha M Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday sought the support of all political parties for smooth functioning of the House.
At a luncheon meet which Naidu hosted at his residence to the Floor Leaders in Rajya Sabha on the opening day of the session, here, he called upon them to accord top priority for fulfilling people’s aspirations, a PIB statement issued here said.
He stressed upon the need for all members to always uphold the dignity and decorum of the House and adopt the best parliamentary practices and traditions. He said Rajya Sabha must act as a role model to all legislatures in the country.
Referring to the recent elections and the mandate given by the people, the Vice President said time has come for all parties to keep aside their political differences and strive for building a ‘New India’.
Naidu said the government, opposition and representatives of all parties must have a healthy dialogue on important issues including passage of bills.
Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha, Harivansh; Leader of House, Thawarchand Gehlot; Leader of Opposition, Ghulam Nabi Azad; Minister for Defence, Rajnath Singh; Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Prahlad Joshi; Union Minister for Railways, Piyush Goyal; Minister for Minority Affairs, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi; Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas, Dharmendra Pradhan; Minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Prakash Javadekar; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Hardeep Singh Puri; and Minister of State for Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, Ramdas Athawale were present.
The floor leaders who attended the luncheon include A Navaneethakrishnan (AIADMK), Derek O’Brien, (AITC), Prasanna Acharya, (BJD), RCP Singh, (JD-U), YS Chowdary (TDP), Dr K Keshava Rao (TRS), TK Rangarajan (CPM), Prem Chand Gupta, (RJD), Tiruchi Shiva, (DMK), Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena), Ram Kumar Kashyap, INLD, Sardar Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, (SAD), Sanjay Singh, (AAP), V Vijayasai Reddy, (YSRCP) and D Raja (CPI).