Only 10 votes in Tral: 0.39%

Only 10 votes in Tral: 0.39%
  • 3

TRAL: Panchayat elections in Tral recorded 0.39 percent polling on Thursday while no polling was held in Litter where all candidates who contested won unopposed, officials said.
A total of 22 Panch halqas and 166 Panch wards are in Tral block. There were 2,554 registered voters here but only 10 turned up to vote. Official sources told Kashmir Reader that 14 postal votes were received from migrant Pandits.
Four polling stations had been established in Tral block for the elections today. As per the data from election officials, two votes were cast at Chattrigam polling station, two at Diver, two at Shaldraman, and four at Gamraz polling stations.
Amlok Singh won the Chattrigam Panch constituency defeating Budh Singh by 2 votes. Balwant Singh won ward 7 by 2 votes, defeating Ranjeet Singh in the Panch election. Peela Moti Panditha, a migrant Pandit who resides in Jammu, won by 20 votes defeating Nanki Kour of Gamraz in the Sarpanch election.
Meanwhile, 37 Panch candidates and 10 Sarpanch candidates were declared winners uncontested, polling officials told Kashmir Reader.
Tral block had the highest nominations in Pulwama district at 62, out of which 14 filed their nominations for Sarpanch and 48 for Panch. The nomination of two Sarpanch candidates and one Panch candidate was rejected while five others, including one Sarpanch candidate, had withdrawn their nomination papers.
No polling was held in Litter panchayat block where six candidates had filed nominations for Sarpanch seats and only one candidate had filed nomination for a Panch seat.
All these candidates who had filed nomination as Independents had already been declared winners uncontested in Litter and certificates issued to them, official sources said.
A total of 125 Panch constituencies and 15 Sarpanch halqas are in Litter block.
Intensive security arrangements were put in place for the smooth conduct of polls in Tral, sources said, adding that no untoward incident was reported during the day.
The government had declared a holiday in the Panchayat constituencies going to polls on Thursday to enable voters to exercise their franchise.
The National Conference, the Peoples Democratic Party, and the CPI(M) have boycotted the panchayat polls due to the legal challenge to Article 35A of the Indian Constitution in the Supreme Court.