Congress always stood up for democracy: Mir

  • 1

Jammu: The Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) chief G A Mir on Sunday said that the party has always stood up for democracy against all odds and despite turbulent security situation in the State, it participated in local bodies polls when two mainstream parties opted out of the exercise.
According to the statement, this was stated by Mir in a party meeting held here on Sunday. The meeting took stock of the overall political scenario in the state besides reviewing the organizational activities in the wake of recent ULB elections and ongoing Panchayat polls in the state.
“The party leaders felt the need to counter the fake propaganda and strategy of the BJP to further polarize the situation in the wake of coming general elections,” the statement said.
Mir on the occasion congratulated the leaders and party workers for their commitment to the party ideology and democracy.
He said that while the party gained heavily in Ladakh and Kashmir regions, its overall vote share in Jammu region has multiplied many fold as compared to last elections. “BJP can claim victory in terms of number in JMC but no one can ignore the fact that BJP lost over 50% of vote share in Jammu city alone as compared to last assembly elections,” Mir said.
JKPCC chief blamed BJP of depriving the women 33% quota to the heads of ULBs including to those of SC/ST and OBCs as already provided in the State Municipal Act, at par with 74th amendment. “This was done deliberately as BJP did not have clear majority in most ULBs in the region and it wanted to grab these bodies by hook and crook. A great injustice has been done to the women in the ULBs, while similar right is available to women in Rural PRIs, at all three tiers, like Panch, Sarpanch, Chairpersons of BDCs and District Boards,” Mir said.
Prominent leaders present in the meeting include Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, Sham Lal Sharma, Jugal Kishore Sharma, Suman Bhagat, Th. Balwan Singh, Kanta Bhan, Ravinder Sharma, Naresh Gupta-, Th. Balbir Singh, Yogesh Sawhney, Manohar Lal Sharma, Ashok Sharma, Rajnish Sharma, S. Manjit Singh, Shah Mohd. Choudhary, Ch. Shah Nawaz, Vikram Malhotra, Hari Singh Chib, Y.V. Sharma, Indu Pawar , Ashok Gupta, B.S. Sambyal, M.K. Bhardwaj, Rashid Choudhary, Neeraj Kundan, Parveen Akhter and Vandana Sharma.