Congress wins Baramulla, BJP wins Sopore

Congress wins Baramulla, BJP wins Sopore
  • 3

Baramulla: Baramulla: The Congress won 12 of the 21 wards in main town Baramulla, the BJP won 6, and Independents won 3. A young man, Umer Azhar Kakroo, may be the next chairman of the municipal council Baramulla.
Sopore: In the second big town in Baramulla district, Sopore, of the total 21 wards under the municipal committee, the BJP won in 7, the Congress in 1, and 13 wards are vacant because no one contested in them. All the winners were unopposed in the elections.
Pattan: In Pattan town of Baramulla, of the total 13 wards, 11 seats were won by Independents unopposed. Two wards are still vacant.
Kunzar: In the 7 wards under municipal committee Kunzar, Independents won 3, BJP 2, and two are vacant. All winners were unopposed.
Uri: In border town Uri, where 73% voters cast their vote, Congress won 6 seats while Independents won 7 seats among the total 13 wards. Sources said that all the Independent candidates are from the National Conference but they submitted their forms as Independents because the NC had boycotted the municipal elections.
Watergam: In Watergam municipal committee there were 13 wards of which BJP won 8, Independents won 1, while 4 are vacant.
Kupwara: In Kupwara municipal council, there were 13 wards and all were won by Independents, who are said to be proxy candidates of PDP and Peoples Conference.
Langate: Under municipal committee Langate, there were 9 wards of which Independents won 8 and 1 was won by the BJP.
Handwara: Of the 13 wards under municipal committee Handwara, all were won by Independents who are said to be proxy candidates of the Peoples Conference headed by Sajjad Gani Lone.