48 candidates file nomination in Bandipora

48 candidates file nomination in Bandipora
  • 1

Bandipora: With Bandipora going for municipal polls in the first phase on October 8, 48 candidates filed nomination Papers at District Electoral Office.
The nominations for 17 wards were filed on the last day, in which 17 candidates are from BJP, 17 from JK Pradesh Congress, while 14 are contesting independently.
NC and PDP have boycotted the municipal polls.
BJP District President, Baramulla, DK Nehru, accompanied the candidates during filling of nomination papers. He said that the party was adamant for progress and “will utilize the money for development”.
Congress MLA from Bandipora, Usman Majid said that they were not ready for polls “but to defeat the communal forces and to eradicate them from grassroot levels it was important for us to contest the polls”.
He said that PDP was the “primary culprit in bringing RSS, Bajrang like communal forces to the state and the results are on the ground that each BJP affiliated family has fielded the candidates”.
For Municipal Committee Sumbal, for 13 wards 13 candidates from BJP have filed nomination papers, 7 from Congress and 15 Independent.