GDC Pattan organises inter-college debate on CBCS

  • 1

Baramulla: To understand student perspective on implementation of Choice Based Credit System (CBCS), the college debates committee of the Government Degree College Pattan, organised a one-day inter-college debate on “Choice Based Credit System- A Quality Enhancement Initiative In Higher Education,” here on Wednesday.
According to a statement, as many as 25 students representing various colleges of the valley participated in the competition.
In his inaugural address, Principal Prof Sheikh Ajaz Bashir asserted that the implementation of CBCS in colleges is facing certain operational difficulties, which needs to be addressed immediately. He asserted that the introduction of CBCS was a progressive step and challenges in implementation should in no way hamper the continuation of scheme. “When leading educational institutions are moving from semester to trimester system, we cannot think of rolling back from semester to yearly system,” he said.
Prof Mohammad Ashraf Shah, who is presently consultant of CBCS with University of Kashmir, said the remedial measures have been flagged to University of Kashmir for proper implementation of CBCS.
Prof Ajaz Hussain while speaking on the occasion asserted the need of changing with times. He emphasized the need for strengthening of the scheme by way of removal of operational shortcomings.
The competition was adjudicated by a jury comprising Prof Sheikh Mairaj-u-din, Dr Abdul Majeed Pandith, and Dr Sheikh Bashir Ahmed.
The first prize of Rs 3000 along with trophy was bagged by Bilquees Bashir from GDC Dooru while as the second prize of Rs 2000 and a trophy was bagged by Absar-un-Nissa from SAM Degree College, Budgam. The third prize of Rs 1500 and a trophy was bagged by Mir Ushain from GDC Nawa Kadal, Srinagar. Two consolation prizes of Rs 500 each and trophy were bagged by Abrar Ashraf from Women’s College M A Road, Srinagar and Peerzada Naveed Suhail from GDC Boys Anantnag.
Participation certificates were also distributed among the participants.