Pak PM Imran announces 20-member Cabinet, Qureshi gets foreign portfolio

  • 2

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s new Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday announced a 20-member Cabinet, including foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi who held the portfolio during the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks.
Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) spokesman Fawad Chaudhry said that out of the 20 names announced, 15 will be ministers while five others will perform their duties as advisers to the premier.
The newly-announced Cabinet is expected to take oath on Monday at the President’s House, he said.
According to the list shared by Chaudhry on Twitter, Qureshi has been appointed as foreign minister, Pervaiz Khattak as defence minister and Asad Umer as finance minister.
Sheikh Rashid from Rawalpindi has been appointed as Railway minister.
Qureshi was foreign minister from 2008 to 2011 under the Pakistan People’s Party government.
Asad Umar is son of former Pakistani Lt Gen Mohammad Umer who was part of army during 1971 war with India. Khattak served as PTI chief minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province from 2013-18.
Three women including Shireen Mazari, Zubaida Jalal and Fehmida Mriza are also part of the cabinet.
The five advisors who have status of ministers include known faces like former banker Ishrat Hussain, businessman Abdul Razzak Dawood and Babar Awan.
Khan’s party said it has nominated party’s veteran lawmaker Dr Arif Alvi as its candidate for the President of Pakistan.