Pulwama journalists elect body

Pulwama journalists elect body
  • 3

PULWAMA: The body of working journalists of Pulwama was constituted on Wednesday to raise issues concerning journalist fraternity and their welfare.
Pulwama Working Journalist Association( PWJA) will be headed by Shah Irshad Ul Qadri as President, Nisal Ul Haq secretary, Javid Sofi Spokesperson and Mir Altaf Hussain Treasurer cum office secretary.
PWJA has 28 working journalist as members and today held its maiden elections to choose various office bearer’s.
The elected body nominated Shabnam Fayaz, Younis Khaliq, Bilal Khan and Mudasir Maqbool as executive members while as Romi Nazir will function as the coordinator.
Senior Journalist and patron of PWJA, Mir Yasir Haneef hailed the members for holding successful elections. “Journalists in Kashmir, particularly journalists from South Kashmir work in a very challenging environment and these challenges can be overcome by supporting and coordinating with each other,” he said, adding that PWJA will highlight issues without taking sides of any party.
An interactive session was also held between members of PWJA and Deputy Commissioner Pulwama, G M Dar, in his office chambers which was facilitated by district information officer Pulwama, Zubair Ahmad Latoo.
“This is really good news to me that working journalists of Pulwama have come under a single platform after a gap of two years,” the Deputy Commissioner said. He congratulated the president and other office bearers.
Various issues facing journalist fraternity of Pulwama were brought into the notice of concerned Deputy Commissioner. Shah Irshad Ul Qadri, president PWJA, reiterated the demand for Press Club in Pulwama. The authorities assured redressal of the issues.