Pak elections: Vote recount begins in several constituencies

  • 21

Srinagar: The recounting of votes in different constituencies across Pakistan began on Saturday, media reports said on Saturday.

As per reports returning Officer (RO) of NA-129 has summoned Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Aleem Khan for re-tabulation of votes.

In the final result, PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq got 103,021 votes from NA-129, while Aleem Khan got  94,879 votes.

Further, Elections Commission of Pakistan (ECP) also accepted PML-N leader Khawaja Saad Rafique’s application for recounting in NA-131 of Lahore.

Meanwhile, the recounting is also going to start shortly in NA-108,  NA-106,  Multan’s NA-154 and NA-157 constituencies.

The recounting in NA-57, Murree is underway. Former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi lost the seat and gave application for a recount.

Security has been increased as police and Army personnel are allocated outside the ECP office.

On Friday, a multi-party conference called to devise a joint strategy over alleged rigging in the General Elections 2018 rejected the results of the poll, demanding a “transparent re-election”, but the major party objecting to the conduct of the polls – PML-N – is seemingly in two minds over launching a protest movement outside the parliament.

Even though, they have refused to accept the results, the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has decided to become part of the parliament while the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is sitting on the fence as its president Shehbaz Sharif has sought time from the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA)-led group to take a decision on whether they will be joining the parliament or not.

Following the multi-party moot, Fazlur Rehman, flanked by Shehbaz Sharif and other leaders, announced the moot’s decision to reject the electoral result and demanded “transparent re-election”.