Tribal committee hails Kashmiris for raising voice over Kathua rape

Tribal committee hails Kashmiris for raising voice over Kathua rape
  • 46

Seek action against BJP MLA Lal Singh


SRINAGAR: The All Tribal Coordination Committee (ATCC) on Wednesday held a press conference here in Srinagar on tribal issues.
ATCC chairman Talib Hussain thanked the people of Kashmir for raising their voice for justice for Bakerwal girl raped and murdered in Kathua.
He said that every secular Indian and people worldwide stood for the tribal (Muslim) girl who was kidnapped, raped and murdered in Kathua district of Jammu to threaten the tribal Muslim community from Samba, Kathua and Jammu districts. But the people of the state, especially from Kashmir, proved that they will not allow any such communal force to do so.
Hussain said that ATCC showed its solidarity with youth who were injured when protesting for justice for the girl. He appealed the Governor to take serious notice of the prime issues of the community. The Kathua rape and murder case remains chief among these, as also ensuring security to witnesses and people fighting for justice in the case. Enacting the Forest Rights Act, reservation in promotion, initiating an enquiry into fake Scheduled Tribe certificates and political reservation in J&K state were other issues mentioned.
“All political parties played dirty politics on our long pending demands,” Hussain further said, “but we are very much hopeful [of] the Governor of the Jammu and Kashmir.”
He appealed the Governor to take stern action against “Lal Singh and everyone who is a threat to communal harmony in the state. Muslims of the Jammu region should insure security,” he said.
Hussain further said that “coaching centres should re-open in Valley, those were closed by previous state government to teach lesson to the Kashmiri students for fighting for justice for the (tribal girl)”.
The other ATCC leaders present at the press conference were Rafiq Blote, Danish lqbal, Chowdary Avais, Riyaz Ahmad Bhadana, Mumtaz Ahmad Khan, Nazir Ahmad Tass and Basharat Ahmad Chouan.