No salary without biometric attendance from June: Govt

No salary without biometric attendance from June: Govt
  • 129

Order applies to PSUs and contract staff too

SRINAGAR: The government employees would not be able to draw their monthly salary unless registered with biometric attendance system.
An order issued by Principal Secretary Finance, Navin Kumar Choudhary Friday directing implementation of biometric attendance system with immediate effect said that no salary or wages would be drawn in favour of the government employees of any category from the month of June 2018 unless they have enrolled themselves in biometric system (Aadhar not mandatory).
The directive applies also to all the PSU employees, contractual/ consolidated/casual workers or any other type of persons drawing wages in any form from the public exchequer.
It will be the duty of the concerned DDOs to ensure enrolment before 30th June, 2018 and furnish a certificate for the same along with the salary/wage bill presented in the Treasury, without which the Treasury Officers are directed not to entertain the bills.
“From 22nd June the marking of attendance in the system would be compulsory for all categories of employees and wage earners. Only after the scrutiny of monthly attendance, the DDOs would prepare Salary/Wage bill and certificate would accordingly be furnished along with the bill to the Treasuries concerned,” an official statement issued here said.
“The Administrative Secretaries/HoDs/DDOs of various Departments/Corporations shall ensure installations of desktop based (low cost) Biometric Attendance System/ Machines in their respective offices at an earliest by purchasing the same at DGS&D rates or through GeM Portal out of OEI’ Machinery and Equipment’ Head.”
Information Technology Department and NIC Centres in each district have been directed to provide necessary guidance and support for its implementation.
“All officers/ employees are also directed not to leave their place of posting either on tour or for personal reasons without written permission from their respective Heads of offices. Any violation thereof will automatically attract disciplinary proceedings.”
All Administrative Secretaries and HODS within their Departments and Deputy Commissioners in their respective jurisdictions shall be responsible for compliance.