21 most wanted militants in Kashmir: Report

  • 38

Srinagar: After four militants were killed in Anantnag encounter in south Kashmir, the government forces have reportedly prepared a new hit-list of 21 most-wanted militants belonging to Hizbul Mujahideen, Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT), Jaish-e-Muhammed (JeM) and other organisations.

As per media reports six of the 21 militants have been placed in the highest category of A++.

The six A++ militants in the reported list comprise four from Hizb, These are – Riyaz Ahmad Naikoo (chief operational commander in the Kashmir Valley), Altaf Ahmad Dar (division commander in south Kashmir), Umar Majeed Ganai (a resident of Hawoora, Kulgam) and Zeenat-ul-Islam (Sugan, Shopian). The other two are reportedly, LeT’s Mustaq Ahmad Mir (Chak Cholan, Shopian) and Ansar Ghazwat ul-Hind (AGH) commander Zakir Rashid Bhat (Tral).


The list also includes three non local LeT militants, who are active in Hajin and Pulwama. All of them have been placed under the A+ category. Apart from these, the list names seven other most wanted militants belonging to Hizb, three from LeT and two from JeM.

On Friday, the government forces killed four militants reportedly belonging to Islamic State of Jammu and Kashmir (ISJK) in an encounter in Srigufwara area of Anantnag. Those killed included ISJK chief Dawood Ahmed Sofi and three of his aides.

The list includes:

Zakir Rashid Bhat Alias Musa, Resident of Tral, Pulwama

Mohammad Ashraf Khan alias Ashraf Moulvi, resident of Kokernag, Anantnag

Altaf Ahmad Dar alias Altaf Kachroo (division commander in south Kashmir), resident of Hawoora, Kulgam

Mohammad Abbas Sheikh, resident of Quimoh, Kulgam

Umar Majeed Ganai, resident of Such, Kulgam

Saifullah Mir (district commander in Pulwama), resident of Malangpur, Pulwama.

Zeenat-ul-Islam, resident of Sugan, Shopian

Riyaz Ahmad Naikoo (chief operational commander, Kashmir), resident of Tokun, Pulwama

Latif Ahmad Dar alias Haroon, resident of Dogirpur, Awantipur

Umar Fayaz Lone, resident of Tral, Awantipur

Manan Wani (AMU research scholar), resident of Kupwara

Abu Muslim, resident of Pakistan, operates in Hajan

Abu Zargam alias Mohammad Bhai, resident of Pakistan, operates in Hajan

Azad Ahmad Malik alias Dada (LeT district commander Anantnag), resident of Malikpura, Arwani

Shakoor Ahmad Dar (LeT district commander, Kulgam), resident of Tengpora, Kulgam

Mohammad Naveed Jatt, resident of Pakistan, operates in Pulwama

Riyaz Ahmad Dar, resident of Sethargun, Pulwama

Mustaq Ahmad Mir, resident of Chak Cholan, Shopian

Zahid Ahmad Wani, resident of Karimabad, Pulwama

Mudasir Ahmad Khan, resident of Midur, Awantipur

Junaid Ashraf Sehrai (Son of Ashraf Sehrai, Tehreeke-e-Hurriyat chairman)