Governor’s Rule in the past

Governor’s Rule in the past
  • 3

Srinagar: Governor’s Rule was imposed in Jammu and Kashmir for the first time on March 26, 1977, during the tenure of Governor LK Jha, after the state Congress – then headed by Mufti Muhammad Sayeed – withdrew support to the minority government of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah of the National Conference. Sheikh had come to the power following an accord with then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1975.

The Governor’s Rule lasted for 105 days and ended when Sheikh Abdullah returned to power in the assembly polls.

Governor’s Rule was imposed for the second time in March 1986 after the state Congress – again headed by Sayeed – withdrew support to the minority government of Ghulam Mohammad Shah.

Shah became the chief minister after he led a rebellion against his brother-in-law and then Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah in 1984.

This 246-day spell ended after Farooq Abdullah entered into an accord of his own with the then Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

The third time Governor’s Rule was imposed was in January 1990 when Farooq Abdullah resigned as hief minister over the appointment of Jagmohan as the state’s Governor.

Mufti Sayeed was Union Home Minister at that time and had brushed aside Farooq Abdullah’s opposition to Jagmohan’s appointment. This was the longest spell of Governor’s Rule – six years and 264 days – which ended in October 1996 after National Conference returned to power in assembly elections that were held after a gap of nine-and-a-half years.

Six years later, Governor’s Rule had to be imposed for the fourth time in October 2002 after caretaker Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah refused to continue in office in wake of his party’s defeat in the assembly elections that year. The 2002 Assembly polls threw up a hung assembly with no party in a position to form a government.

Sayeed, whose regional PDP had won 16 seats, negotiated an alliance with the Congress and a dozen-odd independents to form the government, ending the 15-day central rule on March 1, when Sayeed was sworn in as Chief Minister.

It was the shortest spell of Governor’s rule – 15 days – as the PDP and Congress with support of 12 independents formed a government on November 2.

Governor’s Rule was imposed for the fifth time for 174 days after the PDP withdrew support to the Ghulam Nabi Azad-led Congress-PDP coalition government in 2008.

The PDP withdrew support to the government on June 28, 2008, following widespread protests during the Amarnath land row agitation that pitted Hindu-dominated Jammu region against the Muslim-majority Kashmir valley.

Azad was to seek a vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly on July 7 but chose to resign instead. The central rule came to an end on January 5, 2009, after NC leader Omar Abdullah was sworn in as the youngest chief minister of the state. It was for the first time that Governor’s Rule was imposed during the tenure of Vohra.

Governor’s Rule was imposed for the sixth time after the assembly election results on December 23, 2014, threw up a hung assembly with no party or combination of parties able to stake claim for government formation. Omar Abdullah, the caretaker chief minister, asked to be relieved from duties with immediate effect on January 7.

The central rule ended after the PDP and the BJP stitched an alliance paving the way for the return of Mufti Sayeed as chief minister on March 1, 2015.

Mufti Sayeed’s death was the cause for the last promulgation of Governor’s Rule on January 8, 2016, after allies PDP and BJP deferred the government formation process till the end of the four-day mourning period. The central rule came to an end after Mehbooba Mufti was sworn in as Chief Minister on April 4, 2016.