Plight of prisoners disturbing, horrifying: Geelani

Plight of prisoners disturbing, horrifying: Geelani
  • 5

SRINAGAR: Chairman Hurriyat Conference Syed Ali Geelani on Sunday expressed deep concern and anguish over the plight of detainees languishing in different jails in and outside valley saying they are ill-treated and humiliated for their affiliation with freedom struggle and subjected to vengeance.
In a statement, Geelani said the information received from jails regarding the plight of detainees is disturbing and horrifying.
“These political prisoners are ill-treated, confined to solitary cells and humiliated by criminals lodged in these jails. They are denied medical treatment and basic needs, and are not even allowed to offer the religious obligation,” he said and blamed authorities for their “callous and inhuman approach” against detainees.
“The Kashmiri political detainees, lodged in the outside valley jails, are on one pretext or the other, harassed, intimidated and subjected to political vendetta. The vengeful treatment is so painful that they are even denied proper medical care and are provided sub-standard food. Their meeting with families is also denied on one pretext or the other,” he said.
Hailing detainees for their steadfastness and “sacrifices towards pious cause”, Geelani said adding that the prisoners are deliberately subjected to “inhuman” treatment in order to break their will and determination.
“Dealing with them inhumanly is not only a violation of basic human rights and dignity of prisoners but even against basic human practices and ethics,” the pro-freedom leader said and appealed to the affluent people to take care of the families of detainees, martyrs and underprivileged.
Geelani paid salute to lifers including Dr. Mohammad Qasim Faktoo, Dr. Shafi Shariati, Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Nazir Ahmad Sheikh, Tariq Ahmad, Manzoor Ahmad, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-ud-din Kalwal, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Shahid-ul-Islam, Shahid Yousuf, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Aslam Wani, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Dr. Ghulam Mohammad Bhat, Muzaffar Ahmad Dar, (Tihar jail) Bilal Ahmad Kota, Masarat Allam Bhat, Gh. Mohammad Khan Sopori, Mohammad Ayoub Dar, Mohammad Ayoub Mir, Hakeem Showkat, Asadullah Parry, Showkat Ahmad Khan, Mohammad Ramzan Khan, Farooq Tawheedi (Kotbalwal) Ali Mohammad Bhat, Mirza Nisar Hussain, Lateef Ahmad Waza, Abdul Gani Goni ( Jodhpur Rajasthan) Mohammad Yousuf Mir, Mohammad Yousuf Falahi, Ameer-e-Hamza Shah, Mir Hafizullah, Shakeel Ahmad Bhat, Abdul Gani Bhat, and Mohammad Subhan Wani.