With 2 from each unit, JRL to form 6-member committee

With 2 from each unit, JRL to form 6-member committee
  • 89

Srinagar: The Joint Resistance Leadership (JRL) of Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik on Tuesday said they would form a six-member committee that will formulate a strategy and implement it.
Sources said that the decision was taken on Monday after Mirwaiz and Malik drove to the Hyderpora residence-cum-office of Geelani and held a closed-door meeting that lasted more than an hour.
Sources said the three leaders discussed the prevailing situation in Kashmir and agreed that the Indian state and J&K administration have choked the space for dissent.
The sources said that the idea behind the formation of a six-member team was to devise a strategy to ensure participation of general masses in decision-making and implementation of ideas.
The sources said the respective parties of Geelani, Mirwaiz and Malik have not been taken on board about the decision yet, but the six-member committee will comprise two members each from Geelani’s Hurriyat (G), Mirwaiz’s Hurriyat (M), and Malik’s JKLF.
The committee will be mandated to meet all sections of society including journalists, trade bodies, transporters, teachers and academics. The leadership has also decided to make student activists a part of the “consensus-building mechanism”.
“During the meetings with all sections of society, the ideas of the leaders will be shared with them and their ideas will also be taken,” the sources said. “The decision on implementation of the ideas will be taken after building a consensus.”
The JRL has said that the current situation is “extremely grave” and has urged people to strictly stick to the JRL programmes.