Hurriyat denounces PSA on TeH, Jama’at leaders

  • 1

SRINAGAR: Syed Ali Geelani-led Hurriyat Conference on Saturday strongly condemned the arrest of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat leader Mohammad Rafiq Owaisi and Jama’at-e-Islami leader Bashir Ahmad Lone, slapping Public Safety Act (PSA) and shifting them to Kot Bhalwal jail.
Slamming PDP -led regime, a Hurriyat spokesperson in a statement said that slapping PSAs on pro-freedom leaders and activists have always been a tool of the rulers to try and force the people and leadership into submission.
Terming it as a “political vendetta” and “sheer frustration” on part of the ruling regime, Hurriyat spokesperson said that arresting and slapping PSAs on resistance leaders and shifting them to outside valley jails is a highly undemocratic act and deserves all forms of condemnation.
“PDP led government has started a new campaign of arrests and PSA against the resistance leaders,” he said.
Decrying the continuous detention of Ameer Hamza Shah, Hurriyat spokesperson said, “The PSA slapped on Tehreek-e-Hurriyat leader was termed null and void by the state judiciary and it issued his release orders but authorities created hurdles and he was again slapped with another PSA.”
He alleged that Hurriyat leader Mohammad Yusuf Falahi has been kept with criminals. “This is sheer violation of prisoner’s rights.,” he said.
Expressing deep concern over the deteriorating health of Mir Hafez ullah who is languishing in jail for the past several years and suffering from diabetes and a cyst in kidney, the spokesperson said despite his deteriorating health, no proper treatment is provided to him.
Demanding immediate release of all the political prisoners including Shabir Ahmad Shah, Masarat Alam Bhat, Gh Mohammad Bhat, Dr Qasim Faktoo, Dr Shafi Sharieti, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Peer Saif ullah, Raja Meraj-u-din Kalwal, Nayeem Ahmad Khan , Farooq Ahmad Dar, Zahoor Ahmad Watali , Shahid Yusuf , Ab Gani Bhat, Ab Khaliq Regu, Ab Subhan Wani, Gh Mohammad Khan Sopori, Molana Sarjan Barkati, M Yusuf Mir , Shakil Ahmad Yatoo, Aashiq Husain Narchor, Mohd Amin Ahangar, Mohammad Amin Parey, Ab Majid Parey, Nazir A Mantoo , Javed Ahmad Phuley, Mohd Husain Wagey, Sajjad Ahmad Bhat, Ab Majid Logripora, Nasir Abdullah, M Ashraf Malik, Asif Dada, Shakil Ahmad Bhat, Hakim u Rahman , Bashir Ahmad Saleh, Asif Gull Halwai, Fayaz Ahmad Kumar, Waseem Ahmad Farash, Suhail Ahmad Sheikh, Tawseef Ahmad Khan , Ab Aziz Ganai, Aijaz Ahmad Bahroo, Nazir Khawaja, Ab Rashid Bhat, Ikhlaq Ahmad Sheikh, Tajamul Islam, Tameez-ud-din Shah, M Rajab Bhat, Gh Hassan Shah, Kaleem ullah Sheikh, Javed Ahmad and others, Hurriyat spokesperson said there is no justification to prolong their detention .