Three candidates shortlisted for KU VC

Three candidates shortlisted for KU VC
  • 15

Srinagar: The three-member panel constituted to select a new Vice Chancellor (VC) of Kashmir University (KU) on Wednesday shortlisted three candidates: Professor AK Pasha of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Prof GM Bhat of Jammu University, and Prof Javed Musarrat, VC of Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University Rajouri.
Professor AK Pasha teaches at the Centre for West Asian Studies, School of International Studies, JNU, New Delhi, where he has served as Chairperson and is now Director Gulf Studies. He has also been Director, Maulana Azad Centre for Indian Culture, Cairo, Egypt. He has authored, edited and co-edited and contributed chapters to more than 60 books published in India and abroad. After graduating from St Philomena’s College, Mysore, he obtained MA degrees in Middle Eastern Studies and Political Science from Mysore University; MPhil and PhD from JNU. He has previously taught at the Centre of West Asian Studies, Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), and been a Research Fellow at the Faculty of Economics and Political Science, Cairo University, Egypt.
Prof GM Bhat is a resident of Pampore town in Pulwama district and teaches in the Geology Department at Jammu University. Prof Bhat holds specialisation in Sedimentology, Structural Geology and Engineering Geology.
Prof Javed Musarrat is VC of Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University Rajouri was formerly a Professor of Agricultural Microbiology at Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, AMU. He holds a PhD in Biochemistry from AMU. Prof Musarrat has held several administrative posts including Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, AMU; Officiating Vice-Chancellor, AMU; Chair Professor, DNA Research Chair, King Saud University, Riyadh; and Registrar, AMU.
The selection panel is led by Prof DP Agarwal, former chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), and includes Prof Ehtisham Hasnain, Vice Chancellor of Jamia Hamdard University, New Delhi, and Prof Vijay Gupta, former Vice Chancellor of Sharda University.